We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding view and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have been there half a dozen times during the last fifteen years. What we like is the view from virtually every room, the convenience of parking, the relative quite as it is located well above the road and the value: usually less than 100 US for a large, clean room, a good breakfast and a superb view. It is less than 30 min walk from the center but, if you don't have a car, buses run frequently. The negative is that the hotel has been the same for 20 years and could benefit from same updating and renovation. Quieter rooms are on the second floor and in block 600

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank marcopolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 411 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while we were in Queenstown. We drove so we liked that it was a little out of town. We booked it mainly for the views of the Lake. We got a lower floor unit in the #500 series block. This was so near the carpark where we left the car. There was also a guest laundry that was less than 10 metres from the room. Because it was in a little room under the stair case and bothered no one, you could use the washing machines and dryers at anytime and there was little noise.

When we tried to boil water from the white coloured electric kettle in the room, we discovered that the insides had turned black. We've seen that most electric kettles are a little brown from use but not black! We asked to change the kettle and the recpetionist honestly answered that most of the kettles were in that state. However, she willingly agreed to try to look for one in a better state. When we returned to the room later that evening, we found another kettle in our room. This one was black in colour, so we could not know if the insides were brown or black!

They called this hotel a resort but we were quite unsure of what facilities that they provided to call this a resort. We didn't use the restuarant since we ate out while we were there. We knew beforehand that they rooms were not equipped to handle cooking. There was a bar fridge. Since this was a ground floor unit, we could open the glass sliding door and walk onto the grounds. The room overlooked the lake and this was what we were looking for.

The bed was soft and comfortable with electric blankets. The sheets were clean, as was the room. However, the decor of the room looked dated. The room and bathroom were spacious. The bathroom had all the usual toiletries that hotels provided. It also had a heating rack for towels in the bathroom. The room also came with built in heater for cold nights.

Internet was disappointing as they only provided 30 minutes use per day per device. Yet they advertised as having free internet on Booking.com. This taught us a lesson to ask the right questions the next time.

We had some problems with the room TV and the receptionist tried to help us over the phone. When that didn't work, she came to attend to us personally. It was also the same receptionist that delivered a missing towel to our room. No issue here but it seems that the housekeeper, maintenanace and receptionist were all rolled into one person. Talk about productivity!

We went knowingly to this hotel for the great view of the lake and reasonable prices. If we wanted luxury or be smack in the middle of town, we would have gone elasewhere. So we were contented with what we got.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

if this is a resort, someone must have changed the definition. This place is no way what a resort is supposed to be! Ok, maybe a resort built 20+ years ago when there was no other hotel in the area!

Located just off 6A, the busy main highway to Queenstown from Frankton. Typical hotel-styled rooms with a small deck (no deck chairs or table, however) on the second floor.  Well-dated accommodations with an older feel (mid 1980s), maybe that's why it is a cheaper hotel.  Some moldy smell from the carpet, and the bed spreads could use a thorough cleaning (the negatives).  Sheets and towels were bright and clean, however.  Beds were very soft with warmers.  Small refrigerator only, set of two small glasses and cups, and water heater.  No cooking items, no microwave like motels have, unfortunately.  

Our room (#514) had a very nice unobstructed view of the lake and mountains,  but 6A highway was just down the hill, so there was traffic noise.  We like to leave the windows open, but it was too cool at night even in November as well as the traffic noise.

Only 30 minutes of free Internet per every 24 hours for each device.  Parking is a little distance, especially rooms in the #600 block, and no elevator to second floor - this is a basic hotel, not resort!

We booked all our activities through the hotel which was easy and convenient to have everything on one billing.  The hotel staff was great, though, for sure!

The hotel is about 15 min drive from Queenstown, and 5 mins from Frankton by car on 6A. There is also a quite walking/bike trail by the lakeside just down the steep hill from the hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in the mid 500
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pleasant staff and clean room and the wonderful view on waking up made up for the noisy bathroom heater and light, the odd formatting on the television and the impossible to turn off radio! Breakfast was included in the rate, and after some persuasion the charming Argentinian waiter agreed to wipe down the outside tables on the deck so I could enjoy the view while I had breakfast. No coffee available - the machine was apparently broken - it was certainly switched off! Overall, a perfectly adequate place to stay the night in transit, which I was.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabushkaMolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

While we found the Internet information we based our booking on a bit misleading - this is NOT what I would ever consider a resort, it became a comfortable, quiet oasis for our 3 day stay in Queenstown. The tennis court beside our room was a great play area for our boys.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stingy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

my daughter and i went there for a meal...the meals were generous and really beautifully cooked..compliments to the chef and the awesome waitress who couldnt do enough to make us feel welcome.really enjoyed our dining experience there

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We paid about NZD50+ per night per person (3 of us) for a Lakeview Superior Double, probably slightly cheaper because it was offpeak season in Spring. Worth every dollar spent.

Our room was located on the first floor, with views overlooking the beautiful lake Wakatipu. Beds had warmers which was a plus and was the room very clean in general, and was sufficiently furnished with blankets, utencils, some toiletries, bathtub. No place to cook though.

Hotel was located about 5km from city center, which was not a problem if you're driving. Also, there is a house restaurant that was open for breakfast and dinner and which lasted till 9pm, so food was not really a problem if you do not feel like going to town.

Service was great, with staff occasionally greeting you as you meet them along. Reception was 24 hours, and they were helpful in arranging tours and bookings at no extra charge.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Lakeview, 'nuff said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scizorsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,456 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#35 of 58 in Queenstown
281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#34 of 58 in Queenstown
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $118 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing