We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Autoline Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Autoline Motel
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Ok, so we're a low maintenance family (2adults and child). We were at first put off by the answering of the phone in a manner that would suggest the world was balancing precariously on the manager's shoulders. Apparently she had attempted to lighten this load by posting instructions all of the room (sleep between the sheets! No smoking, don't cook any fish in the kitchen etc). But then at 10.15 it was made clearly apparent that we had failed to read another sign under the computer at check in that said checkout is at 10. We were abruptly spoken to and told to get out in 10mins or we would be charged. This motel is not worth staying in. Their are amazing people and hosts in New Zealand. Don't waste your time or money here.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Movin_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    58
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
83
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

Autoline Motel's website doesn't disclose a whole lots of details and information pertaining to the said accommodation so we made our decision to spend four nights there based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. To be fair, the motel is well refurbished, modern and slick in decor. The room was adequately equipped with a microwave, coffee and tea, basic cutlery and crockery.

However, we were shockingly disappointed that there was minimal house-keeping service throughout our entire stay (unless we mistook this as an accommodation with no basic house-keeping service?). After a long day, we returned to our room to find that the bins were not emptied (which were full to the brim as we cooked on most nights), floor not vacuumed, coffee sachet for the plunger was not topped up, drink glasses and cutlery were not washed even though we washed all other bigger crockery such as pots, pans and plates. Also, the bed wasn't made on two occasions. Not to mention, after the third night, there still wasn't any trace of fresh towels. We didn't raise these issues with the management because we had already packed our days with activities and we missed their reception opening hours.

All in all, despite the modern decor, we were truly disappointed with our stay and the level of hospitality at Autoline Motel. Queenstown is chock-a-block with similar accommodations with fantastic views and there is a plethora of other options to choose from. I would not recommend Autoline Motel to travellers as it ruined our stay (which sadly was the last leg of our honeymoon). A real shame as Queenstown is a gorgeous town!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tannyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Having previously stayed here, we booked our room on the net before coming over on a snow trip with the expectation of having a comfy room at a good price in a very convenient location.

Upon arrival we were surprised to see that the complex had undergone a serious renovation along with the addition of new ownership. The owner upgraded our room for no extra cost. Modern everything, plenty of room to relax, great bathrooms, comfy beds, a huge balcony, flat screen TVs in every room. The list could go on.

Location is about a 5 minute walk out of Shotover St, so you don't have all the noise and rowdiness of the drunken revelers, but with all the same convenience. Situated just off the main road that takes you to the Remarkables, with bus stops 30 seconds from the door if you don't have a car.

Fantastic accommodation for its price, I could not recommend the place highly enough. Will be coming back fo sho

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will123ABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Chanced upon this motel while making a last minute detour back to Queenstown for more snowboarding. Enquired on the spot and got a room.

Room is clean and neat with cooking facilities. Toilet was a little bit too small though with not much moving space, but overall the facilities were great.

Great views of the mountains too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Our family of 5 stayed for 4 nights in a two bedroom suite. The quality of the rooms was great. The motel is fairly new, so everything is fresh & modern. My only complaint would be that the bathrooms are TINY. Admittedly we did have 3 bathrooms in our suite, so waiting wasn't an issue. Easy walk into Queenstown, but up a bit of a hill coming home. Our balcony also had views towards the Remarkables, & glimpses of the lake.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed twice in January and on both occasions were absolutely rapt with our unit and the frendliness and expertise of Helen the Manger.I am a travel professional and I could not believe the comments of the previous contributor.Perhaps the summer has been too much for him. Once again, thanks Helen and good luck in the future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pussNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

I wonder if the summer season was too much for the manager. There were 3 notices in the room as how to behave - no cooking fish, how to boil the jug, and to sleep between the sheets. I felt like I was a school kid!

We rented a front studio and negotiated a price. However, i was not prepared for the small size of the room - tiny tiny tiny - the bed took up most of the room and it was only a queen size (or even a double?). Only the balcony made up for the lack of space, but for much of the time it was unusable unless you wanted to breathe in the cigarette smoke of those on nearby balconies. However, what really got me was when being shown to the room the manager stated the room was being sold as a studio and with great flourish locked the door to the bedroom. How bout saying, we only have a one bedroom available, how bout we upgrade you to that. It's called customer service Ms Manager.

I was also interested that you had to pay up front on check-in, manger says this is because she is so busy it's hard to find her. Actually she was easy to find on check-out, on the phone doing personal business, which she did not interrupt to even acknowledge me or enquire about the stay.

There was a sign on the front fence saying it was for sale. Maybe until a new owner/manger service will be spotty.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffrocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#36 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#31 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexis Queenstown Motor Lodge and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Amity Lodge Motel
Amity Lodge Motel
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autoline Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autoline Motel

Property: Autoline Motel
Address: 2-4 Dublin Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#31 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#37 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Autoline Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autoline Motel and Apartments offer mountain view apartment and motel rooms in central Queenstown. Book direct for best rates. All our rooms have 42" LCD TVs with Sky TV, Wireless Internet, Spa baths (in most rooms) with separate showers, air conditioning, cooking facilities and private balconies. Our apartments and rooms are only around 350m from the lake, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. We are on the main bus route from the airport, and are conveniently located for both local ski fields and activities. We offer free WiFi, free car parking and you are so close to town you can walk if you want to after arriving, saving the hassle of finding a parking space when it's busy. We are more than happy to advise and book activities from jet boating to horse riding and everything inbetween. Please give us a call if you have any questions about your stay in Queenstown and we look forward to welcoming you to the place we call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Autoline Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autoline Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing