We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment with excellent views”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment with excellent views”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were lucky enough to have apartment 4A which is a penthouse apartment with fantastic views over the bay. A shower that takes two easily if you so desire, really nice management. Cannot fault the place. Walking distance of every where. So good.The only problem was the tap which they will fix easily after being advised.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit P, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Kia ora Geoffrey B,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your recent stay.
Much appreciated, I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Jiri L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    84
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
94
86
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a very pleasant time spending two nights here. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was absolutely impressive. This stlyish apartment was clean and tidy through out and well planned in every detail and equipped to serve our needs. The overlooking view of Wakatipu Lake from the balcony was just stunning. The place was even conveniently located, just a minute to the main street of Queenstown.
The only downside was that there was no laundry facility in each room apart from the communal laundry but we could get away with it. A bit pricy, but reasonaly affordable. We would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeoneeShin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit P, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear SoeneeShin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at BreakFree The Waterfront. It is great that you enjoyed your time at the resort and were able to enjoy the amazing views over Lake Wakatipu. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort next time you are in Queenstown.


Kind regards

Jiri L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Bought 2 nights as a 'Grabone' special and what a bargain. Even if you can't get one of these this lovely lowrise apartment block over looking Lake Wakatipu is worth the normal rate. It was spotless, well provisioned and fabulously comfortable. Just how home should be. The manager Jiri was very helpful. The Waterfront is just a few steps away from everything in the town, so handy not to have to take the car for which there is heaps of parking onsite. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: higher floors the better, road noise may be noticeable near the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit P, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Kia ora,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at BreakFree The Waterfront. It is great to read you enjoyed your time at the resort. We would love to welcome you back to the resort soon for another enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Jiri L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were lucky enough to grab a deal ongrabone - so fantastic AND cheap - double win!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was spacious, clean, comfortable and modern. Our room had 2 bathrooms, each with a shower/bath and toilet, great for travelling with the whole family.

The rooms all over look the lake, and are within an easy walking distance of resturants, shops and attractions - even with little kids.

I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit P, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Kia ora Cath,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad your stay was enjoyable and comfortable. I look forward to have you staying with us again!

Kind regards

Jiri L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Superb, up market accommodation overlooking Lake Wakatipu We stayed in a 1 bed apartment with great views of the boats coming and going on the lake. The steam powered lake cruiser (TSS Earnslaw) was a regular sight, taking visitors out on the lake, with a plume of black smoke following behind. The apartment we stayed in had a full kitchen and dishwasher if you wanted to cater for yourself. However, if you did not want to, Queenstown is awash with eating options to suit all pockets - from fine dining to eating a burger backpacker style on the nearest bench.
Clothes washing/drying facilities were available (small charge) as well as free WiFi and a space to park your car.
Queenstown is a vibrant place to stay, very busy - you can take a boat ride, go up the mountain behind on the gondola lift for even more fantastic views or try out the luge run.

There was no outside sitting area although the apartment doors opened on to a small Juliette type balcony.

Overall this was a good place to stay in Queenstown, albeit at the pricier end of the scale, but reasonable value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit P, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Kia ora Vic G,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and I hope we will see you again one day soon.

Kind regards

Jiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We recently finished off our South Island trip with two nights here and it was absolutely perfect. Although we were traveling as a couple we had been given a two bedroom apartment on the third floor which had a huge open plan dining / kitchen/ lounge area and the bedroom we used had an ensuite with a great shower. No bath in the apartment we had,but this wasn't an issue for us.
I can't comment on the servicing of the apartment as we has not requested a serviced apartment(as in daily towel change/beds made) but on arrival it was spotlessly clean.
The view was absolutely picturesque as you look right out to the lake and all the various activities that take place on it.
It's walking distance to anywhere in town and although we had a car ,you could easily do without one if you were going on organised trips.
The deck was quite small and couldn't fit an outside table ,but we were happy to sit inside with the double glass doors open as we watched the world go by .
This is one place I would happily recommend to any friends or family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyQuinlivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit P, Front Office Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Kia ora Sally,

Thank you very much for the great comments. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Breakfree The Waterfront!
We really look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Jiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I just have bee there from 26/12-31/12.
It is located the center of queenstown with nice water view. Not need to hire a car.
It has a good kitchen and a wide living rooms with very relaxing recliner sofas.

No regret, No tears at all. I definately go back there.

Room Tip: Higher better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onnuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit P, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Kia ora Onnuri,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Yes the location is simply fantastic with just a minute walk to centre of Queenstown.
I am glad your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Jiri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 109 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake. The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ. From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees. Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Waterfront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing