We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for family ski holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
maestro77
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for family ski holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here with our young kids and the Breakfree is fantastic. Enough room for the kids to play and really close to town and all the great restaurants. Clean and fresh. Ideal apartment living. GREAT VIEW from every room too. Carpark right under the building. I couldn't fault the place and we will be returning again. Thanks Breakfree.

Room Tip: All have water and mountain views. As my 3 year old said "I want to stay here forever and ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    83
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights; we had our two teenage daughters and a one year old daughter with us. The fourth floor two bedroom/two bathroom apartment was a great setup, lots of space, big kitchen facility and baby friendly with cot and highchair provided and all secure with no obvious baby hazards. Two minute walk to town, great views of the lake across the road, the Remarkables and Cecil Peak. Complementary wifi, good heating (it was snowing outside) and double glazing for heat and sound proofing. On site manager was very polite and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floor apartments for better views and ask for secure under building parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

For 3 adults traveling together this hotel we found, centrally located and offered roomy apartments with beautiful views over the lake. The only slight inconvenience was that at the time we stayed there we had to store our ski gear in the room, however the hotel we understand is going through some renovations and the staff were very apologetic about this. The apartment was very warm and there is plenty of room to prepare meals in the well appointed kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrulesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom unit.Two bedroom unit downstairs with 1 bedroom fully selfcontained upstairs with a rooftop terrace and BBQ.Fantastic views,could not fault our unit everything worked,fantastic bathrooms and plenty of warmth from the gas fireplace and plenty of heaters.
The apartment may have been recently renovated.The location is within walking distance to everything and across the road from the lake with a pub 200 mtrs up the road with good cheap meals.
We found the price a bit expensive for a family of 6 with a 2 % surcharge but would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at the Waterfront for 7 nights with family on a skiing holiday in June 2013. Service was great with the few small issues sorted out immediately, rooms were well loved but this added to a homely feel. Location was excellent, close to town, views were amazing. The only bad point was the street and traffic noise, if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Considering the price, I felt it should be more modern.

Cons: 90's decor, paint damage in several areas, Heater in bathroom not working, Not enough heating (just a couple of small heaters plus some luke warm wall panels), Broken blinds, Small holes in the walls where a fitting had been removed, No electric blankets, Cracked tiles in bathroom.

Pros: Great view, Close to town so you can walk to everything, Good WiFi.

I think they may have started renovations and once this is done I would rate it as very good, or even excellent if they improve the heating.

As it is, I recommend it so long as you can get a decent discount.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view but the upper floors would be better especially if they have been renovated.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

As other reviewers have stated the apartments need a good makeover. The location is excellent
but the apartment we stayed in looked very tired. No real problems with anything but the bed was a bit on the soft side for us and the bed linen seemed to be of the cheapest quality. Dark colours gave the apartment a very gloomy appearance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiFranUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 109 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake. The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ. From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees. Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Waterfront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing