We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom unit.Two bedroom unit downstairs with 1 bedroom fully selfcontained upstairs with a rooftop terrace and BBQ.Fantastic views,could not fault our unit everything worked,fantastic bathrooms and plenty of warmth from the gas fireplace and plenty of heaters.
The apartment may have been recently renovated.The location is within walking distance to everything and across the road from the lake with a pub 200 mtrs up the road with good cheap meals.
We found the price a bit expensive for a family of 6 with a 2 % surcharge but would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    81
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
92
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at the Waterfront for 7 nights with family on a skiing holiday in June 2013. Service was great with the few small issues sorted out immediately, rooms were well loved but this added to a homely feel. Location was excellent, close to town, views were amazing. The only bad point was the street and traffic noise, if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Considering the price, I felt it should be more modern.

Cons: 90's decor, paint damage in several areas, Heater in bathroom not working, Not enough heating (just a couple of small heaters plus some luke warm wall panels), Broken blinds, Small holes in the walls where a fitting had been removed, No electric blankets, Cracked tiles in bathroom.

Pros: Great view, Close to town so you can walk to everything, Good WiFi.

I think they may have started renovations and once this is done I would rate it as very good, or even excellent if they improve the heating.

As it is, I recommend it so long as you can get a decent discount.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view but the upper floors would be better especially if they have been renovated.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

As other reviewers have stated the apartments need a good makeover. The location is excellent
but the apartment we stayed in looked very tired. No real problems with anything but the bed was a bit on the soft side for us and the bed linen seemed to be of the cheapest quality. Dark colours gave the apartment a very gloomy appearance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiFranUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed several times at this place because it is central, within 5 mins walking distance to centre of town, has fully equipped kitchens and is very spacious.

There is free parking which is secure and a storage locker if you need to store bags etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the side rooms, as they have more windows and allows fresh air into the bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights this time around. Had stayed 5 nights previously (two years ago) and back then it was pretty swept up and well worth the price. Now it is looking very tired, and this makes it VERY expensive for what you get. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, with two bathrooms, kitchen/lounge. We had to move apartment after the first night as the fire sprinkler in the en suite bathroom was leaking. As such we saw two apartments and the comments are equally true of each. The decor is chipped and very tatty throughout. In the second apartment the shower head in the main bathroom was broken off and the shower slide in the en suite detached from the wall, these were fixed within 24 hours once we mentioned it but should never have been left like that. One flush button was covered with tape, these seems a permanent "fix". The beds are not very comfortable and the bed linens not high quality. The rooms are only made up every 4 days. The location is very good indeed, but the apartments need a thorough rejuvenation to justify the high price. One attraction is the secure parking, but this is in fact not secure at all as the entry door is always left latched open and the reception is rarely staffed, anyone could walk in and smash and grab what they wanted from the guests' cars, safely out of view of the street. Very disappointed this time round, after a good stay last time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had a reservation at this accommodation in April of 2013. After making multiple changes to the reservation and making a general pest of myself, I had to cancel the reservation due to a serious illness in the family of one of our party. Throughout the reservation assistant was helpful, friendly and most efficient and did not charge us a booking cancelation even they were well within their rights to do so. I just wanted to thank them for all there work and for helping us at every turn. Highly recommend. Brian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 109 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake. The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ. From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees. Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Waterfront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing