We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but old old place”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is my first time to Queenstown and my friend decided to book a stay at this apartment as he stayed here before and he actually used to own 3 units in this development. So I went along with his suggestion as his choices are usually very good.
Well, but sad to say, this apartment is really not up to par. And my friend was disappointed as well.
Firstly, the good points. Location is great. The lake is right in front of the apartment so the view was good. And town is just like a 3 minute walk away. But that's about it.
The numerous bad points:
- old apartment + lousy maintenance = in need of upgrading/refreshing
- it was dirty: carpets had stains on them, cobwebs were on the balcony and window grilles, sofa looked sad and saggy, bed was too soft, bed linen looked very questionable, hangers were of assorted variety (i hate it), kitchen utensils looked very dirty and used and the list goes on
- parking can be difficult as there are only 5 or 6 lots available
- staff at reception isn't the most helpful eg, absolutely cannot help to drop the postcards in the letterbox for you even though you got the stamps as posting letters etc are not in their job scope
- house keeping only comes in once every 4th day so you have to make your bed etc etc etc even when you are on holiday
- wifi was very patchy and I was not able to connect at times
- toiletries were insufficient and lousy
- front doors slam all the time and if you sleep in the bedroom by the corridor, you can hear doors slamming and people talking
- Big balcony in the penthouse suite but better put your clothes on even when in your room as the neighbors next door can look into your room

The penthouse suite and the apartment on the top floor shares the same front door entrance but you got to unlock another door to get into the apartment. And as for the penthouse suite, you got to climb a flight of stairs to your suite and open the door to get inside.
It's kinda funny and especially so if two different set of guests staying in the same apartment unit.
Anyway, I did not sleep well for the 5 nights I was there. I really did not like the place. It was a mistake because we didn't cook and it was just a small party of 3. We had the apartment downstairs and the penthouse suite upstairs. Utter waste of money. And we had an extra 2 beds.
Now that I have been to Queenstown, the next time I will be staying at the hotel next door (Crowne Plaza). Location is just as good. And I am pretty sure it will be much much much cleaner.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite for one reason or another feels cleaner than the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mulder-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Best location, two minutes walk to town. Grea shower, good bed, free Wifi, awesome view of lake from room, nice terrace, comfy and clean. All in all good value and above average in every aspect. Bbq available on all balconies. Free parking for all guests. Room a good size in penthouse suite. Service in reception was a bit hit and miss due to staff illness and refurbishment of some areas but did not affect the quality of our stay at all. Beds could be bigger but adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

With 2 adults and 3 children accommodation options are often limited. We stayed in a three bedroom apartment (2 interconnecting apartments, one upstairs on downstairs). Upstairs had a balcony and bbq. Was an awesome location on the lake and with easy access to everything. Limited off street parking for hire car. We did a day trip to dunedin from here but was possibly a little too much. Long drive in the car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5infam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Couldn't ask for better location and view - 100% perfect in that respect !! Bedrooms, lounge, kitchen and bathrooms were a good size, and overall good value for money in the centre of Queenstown. Stunning outlook. However the cleanliness could be improved upon - the tiles on the kitchen floor and balcony turned our feet black, not to mention the effect it had on the clothes, hands, knees and feet of our little toddler and crawling baby. I realise this is probably caused by smoke from the nearby steamer, however they should be cleaned more regularly, or at least cleaning equipement supplied for guests to use - the tiles were dirty when we first arrived. Toilet brushes and holders also were quite disgusting.

Room Tip: The lower levels have very small balconies. If you prefer a larger balcony for sitting outside, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with balcony. You are almost on the edge of the lake and the views are amazing. From our balcony we watched the steamer Earnslaw depart and return during the day and jet boats and para sailing. Free entertainment! The apartment was roomy and tastefully decorated.Excellent location, just 5mins walk to the the town centre.

Room Tip: Apartment 11 on the 3rd floor has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We chose Breakfree the waterfront as our base while in queenstown because we know the standards Breakfree provide and it didnt disapoint.
The rooms were extremly large and comfortable
The service was a bit limited but that didnt matter.
Location is perfect, being just on the edge of the town without being in the noise.walking distance to everywhere
Would recomend it for your stay in Queenstown

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had room 13 first level. So close to the centre of it all yet far enough away to relax. Stunning views. Absolutely loved the room (1 bedroom apartment). Was spacious and had everything we needed. We have been travelling lower South Island for 2 weeks with our 13 month old son.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skuxsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 109 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $195 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake. The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ. From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees. Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Waterfront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing