We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - cant wait to go back”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor I was wondering if I had made the right choice in booking a two bedroom apartment for 5 days for me and my Mum. Well, after staying there for our holiday I can only say WOW! Great apartment, great views and just a short walk to the shops. I booked a two bedroom apartment with a discount voucher, but still ended up with one of the penthouses. This apartment came with a laundry, plenty of heating and a view to die for! Couldnt be happier. Only downside was that I didnt book for a longer stay! I would agree with other reviewers, try to get a higher level. But all the bedrooms are at the back, so if you ended up with a lower lever apartment the little bit of traffic that goes past wouldnt be a problem. And anyway, thats the vibe of Queenstown!

Room Tip: Request one of the higher levels. Mantra will accommodate your request if possible. But every apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 269 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

As others have said, these apartments are in a great location overlooking the lake and within a very short walk to shops, restaurants, etc. The apartments are really in need of a good renovation though. The bathrooms ar pretty dingy and probably twenty years old. And also even though the booking site indicated laundry facilities, these were actually a coin operated facility in the basement. Overall I thought quite expensive for what it was at over $300 per night.But then maybe that is the going rate for a 2 bedroom apartment in queenstown.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethelredyappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I booked the hotel through a ski package provider for four people for 9 days.
The apartment's location was great, a 2 minute flat walk to the main part of Queenstown, and it had enough space for all four of us to hang out and enjoy the fantastic views the hotel had.
We stayed on level 3 unit 10 - and the décor does need an update. More importantly the kitchen only had 4 glasses, 4 mugs, and 4 wine glasses which meant we had to wash the glasses every time we changed our beverage - something you don't really want to do more than once when you're on holiday. Also the kitchen wasn't equipped with bowls - it had plenty of plates but no bowls, which meant we couldn't make/have cereal or the oats we bought.
The complex did have free parking although spaces were limited in the basement, you can park outside. The drying room is located in the basement, overall it just wasn't warm enough, if your a skier your boots may not dry overnight, by halfway through the week of our stay my boots were getting pretty damp.

Overall - our stay was okay, the apartment served it's purpose. However with other better options in Queenstown I wouldn't rebook this hotel next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed here with friends during my adventure trip to NZ. Booked on-line for 3 nights so got a great deal as well. The view from the apartment is just amazing. It has a small balcony where you can step out with a cup of tea and admire queenstown's beauty. The rooms are comfortable but could take a renovation. The apartment has been furnished with modern accessories and equipments however the decor could have been better. Sleep might not be comfortable as you can hear people next door and in the foyer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiragAmla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The location of this hotel was fantastic, the view was brilliant of the lake and the decor was lovely. There was a lovely fully equiped kitchen and spacious dinning and lounge area. The only problem would be that you could hear guests in the room upstairs walking around. This made having a longer lay in of a morning a little frustrating as you could hear kitchen cupboard doors and drawers opening and closing as those guests prepared their early morning breakfast. I would not say dont stay at this hotel as the location is great, however - if we went back to Queenstown, I'm not sure we'd stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieanneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We recently spent three nights at the Breakfree and we were amazed by the accommodation. We booked the accommodation on a special, and the apartment was better than we expected! The service was good on check in and the receptionist was very helpful. The apartment we stayed in was one of the 2 bedroom penthouse apartments and it felt quite luxurious! Everything was up to date and looked like it had been recently done up. And the views of the lake and mountains was beautiful. There is adequate car parks for those with a car, though, you don't really need a car when you stay here as it's only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town. Great place, we'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brissyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay! The Waterfront is about five minutes walk from shops and all Queenstown has to offer. Our apartment was comfortable and clean although a bit dated (especially bathrooms) but it didn't spoil our stay at all. View of the lake was fantastic! Receptionist although obviously not local had a great knowledge of an area and gave us loads of useful tips. Very friendly and efficient service, nothing was to much trouble. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham11126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 109 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $218 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake. The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ. From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees. Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Waterfront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing