We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and a very reception!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree The Point
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning views and a very reception!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here in the 2 bedroom apartment in a party of 4. Views were just amazing! The lady at the reception was very welcoming and immediately pointed us out to the brochures for everything available in Queenstown.

The apartment was very functional and beautifully prepared. Washing machine and dryer were both located in the bathroom so it was very convenient. Location of the property was about 5mins drive from the town centre so it was quiet, yet you know you aren't far from everything.

We were allowed to leave our car with the property on our checkout day while we went on a morning tour and would only be back after noon time. Really appreciated the nice hospitality! Keep it up!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kento1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Kia Ora Kento1985
Thank you for your great feedback on the property and staff. I really appreciate that you have taken the time to comment. It does make us happy that we are doing a good job and that you enjoyed your time at Breakfree the Point and Queenstown.
Would love to see you back.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    86
    46
    20
    14
See reviews for
111
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Not really within walking distance to town, and not really many nice cafés or restaurants nearby. They are at least half an hour's walk away. The view is spectacular. Facilities are great in general. But I still don't understand why any serviced apartment will charge soo much for with-fi. It's a huge and perhaps only let-down. It's 2013! Time to step up your game Peppers!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SOONSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Kia Ora SOONSW
Thank you for review. you comments are taken on board.
It is true that we are 1.5kms from the CBD but the lakefront setting does allow the Point peace and tranquility and away from the traffic of town.
I understand your frustration with the wifi, however, like other hotels we do not build the cost of wifi into the room cost. This allows us to offer better rates for the customer.
Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here in a studio apartment. Our room had a lovely view of the mountains and it was a great place to stay. The room was very spacious and we could have easily have stayed longer. It had a small kitchenette that we could have cooked some of our own meals if we had been in Queenstown for more than a few days and it would have served as a great base for a longer stay. It is not serviced daily, but my partner and I prefer this, particularly when we are only staying for a few days.
It is a little way out of town, but the walk along the lake is lovely (it takes around 20 minutes) and it means that it is nice and quiet. It has been mentioned before that the driveway is steep and narrow- whilst it wasn't a problem for us in a car, it did prove problematic when being picked up by a tour operator in a van with a trailer. If you are arranging to be picked up, it would be worth checking what vehicle they are driving then arranging to meet them on the main road or in town if it is a large vehicle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Kia Ora Ajalis

Thank you for your positive reviews. The walk along the lake to town is indeed superb. I am please that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you back.
I appreciate the tip you have given for pickups in the van and trailer. We advise this to guests also when we are aware of it.
Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent two nights here in October 2013, in a 2 brm apartment. There were just the two of us, but we wanted great views and a bit of space!

It was great having onsite parking, and the apartment was spacious and comfortable and clean. The linen and beds were great, and it was awesome to have a washing machine and dryer.

The views were stunning, and the location is really good - central to everything. I would definitely stay here again, it was good value for what I paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Kia Ora Tinzaroo

It sounds as though your experience was everything you wanted. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and managed to soak up those stunning views that you mentioned.
We would love to see you back here also.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a 2-bedroom apartment and enjoyed the convenience of the apartment facilities and the excellent views over the lake and mountains. The apartments are well set up and spacious thus ideal for our family holiday. The beds were super comfortable with good quality linen. These are not luxury apartments and are a little dated but offer excellent value and convenience for family and/or long stay holidays. I have noticed a few comments about the driveway - in my opinion it is not difficult or challenging and is what you should expect for a lakefront hillside location. Those who have found the driveway difficult to cope with perhaps shouldn't be behind the wheel in the first place! As these are apartments they are not serviced daily, which is what you should expect for a property like this. There is a washing machine and dryer so for those who seem to require fresh linen daily it is easy enough to do it yourself. We thought it was a very comfortable stay and we will happily return at some stage in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mjszea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Kia Ora mjszea

Thank you for you positive review. I am please that you enjoyed your time at Breakfree the Point.
We too would love to see you back.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, with a gap night away at Fox Glacier. Staff were awesome, let us leave some of our luggage for when we came back. Great layout, bedrooms downstairs, kitchen/lounge upstairs. Quiet, friendly and easy walk to town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Kia Ora Tony H
Thank you for your kind comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The views are Awesome as you have stated. I am pleased that your stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one.
We we love to welcome you back any time.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Breakfree The Point for 7 nights during the month of August and we will definitely be coming back again! It was in the perfect place, just out of town so it wasn't too busy but only took 10 minutes to walk into town too! It had a very homely feel to it and we felt comfortable the whole time we stayed. The lady and man who look after the place were so nice and helped us with everything we needed, they were beyond helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with the most amazing view too! Definitely recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The 2 and 3 bedroom apartments were really big and had the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Kia Ora Joel B
Thank you for your kind comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
It was a pleasure to host yourself and the others in your party.
We look froward to seeing you back at Breakfree the Point
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#35 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#40 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
#20 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mantra Marina
Mantra Marina
#13 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Property: BreakFree The Point
Address: 239 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 Kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups. Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing