We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree The Point
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Breakfree The Point for 7 nights during the month of August and we will definitely be coming back again! It was in the perfect place, just out of town so it wasn't too busy but only took 10 minutes to walk into town too! It had a very homely feel to it and we felt comfortable the whole time we stayed. The lady and man who look after the place were so nice and helped us with everything we needed, they were beyond helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with the most amazing view too! Definitely recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The 2 and 3 bedroom apartments were really big and had the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Kia Ora Joel B
Thank you for your kind comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
It was a pleasure to host yourself and the others in your party.
We look froward to seeing you back at Breakfree the Point
Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at BreakFree The point for a week over July. We had a 2br apartment with great views in a peaceful location. Apartment had pretty much everything you would need, split over 2 levels. Heatpump was very welcome returning from the cold days. It was right on the lakefront and with the snow on the hills, a beautiful view. Yes the driveway is steep, but not too bad. Parking is available under the apartments, which is fine for a smaller car, but a big 4wd (Prado type size) might have trouble getting under the roof.
I would recommend getting a rental car, if you don't have your own. Its probably a 20-30min along the waterfront in to town and the bus stops aren't that close by.
For supplies the best supermarket is the New World in Frankton (again you'd need a car). Its much better priced than the superettes in Queenstown and has a better variety. Only down side is no free WIFI available. Always handy for booking the tours.
Would recommend these apartments for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Kia Ora Kiwi721
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The drive way is steep as mentioned, but very managable.
We have taken guest feedback regarding free wi-fi and i am looking at introducing this at the end of this year.
We we love to welcome you back any time.
Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The location is perfect. Great views and an easy 30 minute walk or 5 minute drive into Queenstown. The apartment was spacious and self contained which is an added bonus when your staying for 7 nights.
The heater upstairs in the main living area didn't work for the first 2 days and then strangely started to work. Comfortable warm beds and great heating downstairs.
The fire alarms went off every time we opened the oven door. Didn't bother using the oven after the first night because of this. The noise from neighbouring rooms was a negative for us. Overall was a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gctraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
We would love to see you back at Breakfree the Point
Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

For any one that want to have a good break and holiday this is the place to stay, our Host/ manager was very informative on every aspect of attraction and site seeing tours for Queenstown. The accommodation was the best they cater for Mum and Dad and the kids too, having your own laundry and Kitchen make it all worth while

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view of the lake and the Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Kia Ora Shane T
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. The views are amazin as you have stated and perfect accommodation for families
We we love to see you back at Breakfree the Point.
Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were a group of 10 with kids, so hotels were off the agenda - too cramped, no cooking facilities. Breakfree the Point was perfect. One large 3 bedroom apartment and one smaller two bedroom. We congregated in the larger one which could accommodate us all for dinner and evenings. The apartment was well-equipped with cooking utensils, crockery, saucepans etc.

Beautiful views from every room; comfortable beds; good heating. Generally quiet. A longish walk to town (20-30 mins) but we had cars. Easy drive to ski fields and other attractions. Staff friendly and helpful. One service mid-stay, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise.

Two small negatives: the internet (not provided by the hotel itself, but by a third party - and not free) is incredibly slow, if not impossible to log onto, in the evenings (presumably when many people are trying to do so. Having paid $45 for a week, not being able to use it at peak times was frustrating.

The smoke alarm went off whenever the oven door was opened.

But otherwise, all good - we would come back here.

Room Tip: The bigger apartments are the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristenw1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Kia Ora KirstenW1967
Thank you for your generous comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The apartments are very comfortable and ideal for large groups as you have mentioned.
I am looking at changing the wifi service at the end of this year and introducing free wifi.
We we love to welcome you back any time.
Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent three nights here as a base for Queenstown. The apartment itself, over two floors was spacious, clean, quiet and with fabulous views of the lake and the Remarkables mountains and the night sky, from the balcony on a clear crisp evening. At the bottom of the hill that the hotel is on, is a walk around the lake, either into Queenstown or back out toward the Airport and Frankton. It is a bit of a walk, about half an hour but pleasant and not difficult. The distance from Queenstown centre is one of the few downsides, particularly if you want to visit bars or restaurants without the risks of driving afterwards .... but really a minor problem.

The apartments are not serviced during your stay unless you are there for a week or more (from memory) and some materials are only provided in very small numbers. We were there for three nights but the coffee was only sufficient for two mornings coffee - the extra cost of an extra day would have been nothing and it is for these little detail points that I have not given this hotel a max score. Generally good value just a couple of small tweaks would have made it perfect; that said would probably still stay there again but would know what to expect. No free WiFi - a bit of a disappointment but common problem throughout NZ (a bit out of step with the rest of the world in this respect) - paid WiFi available but .... ouch what a price!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Kia Ora Kiwi818
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The location is a great one, located on the Frankton track and with stunning lake and mountain views.
We are now looking at changing the wifi at the end if this year. This is thanks to regular feedback from guests.
We we love to welcome you back at any time to Breakfree the Point.
Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This has to be the quietest place we have ever stayed, maybe we got lucky that not many other apartments were occupied but it was really peaceful. No traffic noise or people banging doors no elevators its perfect. Yes it is a little out of town, took us 22 minutes to walk in along the lake front was a fantastic view all the way. The driveway is steep but easy to manage as there are turning bays. If you have a car its a quick drive to town centre. We stayed in Apartment 4 which was a 3 bedroom although we were only to use two (as we booked a 2 bed unit). The apartment was really spacious, well equipped only thing missing was pepper & salt so please take or buy your own if your cooking. The rooms had comfy beds and some had electric blankets. The heater in the living area took a long time to heat up but once it did the room was perfect. We enjoyed watching the boats going past & the lights in the evening. Would recommend staying here, especially if you can get a lake view.

Room Tip: Request a lake view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Kia Ora nzsmith
Thank you for your recent comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The views are awesome as you have stated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The driveway is steep but very manageable
We we love to see you back at Breakfree the Point.
Regards Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#38 of 58 in Queenstown
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#37 of 58 in Queenstown
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
555 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Address: 239 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $124 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. During winter Queenstown is a haven for snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors hiking the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. To relax there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, featuri ng ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing