We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree The Point
sydney
2 reviews
“Great views, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here with friends for 6 nights last week. The views and location were great. The size of the communal area and rooms were pretty good- there were 6 of us staying. There were plenty of heaters and electric blankets. Reasonable price. HOWEVER...we had only 6 very small bath towels to share between 6 of us for the whole week. The rooms were never serviced and the towels were never changed. We had to buy more toilet paper ourselves! Beautiful views, good value, but totally ignored the whole time we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

I am pleased that you were satisfied in general with the accommodation, with the exception of servicing of the apartments.
I have posted below our servicing policy, which is available on our website terms and conditions.
It is unfortunate that you were not aware af this at your time of booking

"If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    84
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
108
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

These are extremely spacious apartments, well laid out and very comfortable indeed. Very clean and well furnished. We stayed mid winter and the apartments are very well heated, plus electric blankets on all beds (which were very comfortable). The views are probably the best I've ever experienced in accommodation. The management are friendly and helpful. Much is made of the steep driveway but it's perfectly negotiable by any competent driver. The accommodation seems to be very family orientated and we had no problems with noise from other units. We would definitely stay here again. One will never tire of watching the sun rise & set over the mountains. Savour the moment.

Room Tip: None, all seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for sharing your comments. I have passed your comments on to our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree the Point when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind Regards
Craig Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was the first place we stayed in New Zealand & we were completely blown away! It was a quick drive from the airport - the only thing that was unpleasant was the turn to get on the property. It's pretty scary but luckily there wasn't much traffic while we were there. It's ridiculously steep & you can't really see if anyone's coming. We got there around 10:00 a.m. after a 30 hour flight & the front desk lady was really polite. She said they could have a room ready in an hour or so. So after a quick drive to town & back we were pleasantly surprised to see we got a 3 bedroom apartment instead of the 2 bedroom we booked. Very spacious & clean with a beautiful balcony & view of Lake Wakatipu. The kitchen was well stocked. The beds were very comfortable. It's a nice 30 minute walk into town. We'll definitely stay here again when we return to Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for sharing your comments. The apartments are very spacious and have beautiful views of Lake Wakatipu as you have mentioned.
I have passed your comments on the front desk lady who welcomed you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree the Point when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind Regards
Craig Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

It was the time of year where there are lots of young guys pitching together in accommodation and so when they get drunk and make their way home at 2 am it can wake you up. The accommodation was comfortable although we found information lacking and the reception not always attended. The parking bay is a long way from the entrance and getting bags to and from your room was a chore....but the views made up for it all and it was nice and warm. I gave it very good as the views and general location was great. Wouldn't book there again...would try and find somewhere where there was an attendant all night who can get rid of noisy tenants.

Room Tip: If you like your sleep then maybe a family only place would be better or ear plugs if you go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

I am pleased that your stay was comfortable despite some noisy neighbours. This can be a issue on the rare occasion during ski season. A issue such as this can be resolved straight away with a quick call to reception. We are always available 24 hours a day.

Reception is available 8am to 5pm, after this, there is always someone on site to attend to your needs. On the odd occasion, the office is unattended during the day, the staff member on duty is usually preparing rooms for the days arrivals. By simple picking up the phone located at reception you will be transferred to the staff member who is happy to return to reception.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments.

Kind Regards
Craig Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Breakfree The Point
Nice unit overlooking lake Wakatipu, with a small balcony..
However, because it's not close to the city, you need to drive..
The driveway is narrow and dangerouss on steep 45degree incline on icy surfaces ..
One annoying thing, is on the way back from city, you have to take a detour on the drive because no right turn from frankston highway.
Another thing that i need during holiday is broadband internet .. whilst connection in queenstown is pretty good, at this particular location by the lake, the connection was frustratingly on&off

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

The driveway is steep as you mentioned, however this is not uncommon in Queenstown, where the terrain is mountainous. You will be pleased to know that it perfectly safe however, The driveway is de-iced in winter when the tempreture is expected to fall below 0 degrees.

I thank you for your comments regarding internet access. We value these comments and take them on board as a way of improving our service.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments.

Kind Regards
Craig Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Basic, clean and comfortable.

good handy location to town and friendly host.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

I am pleased that you your recent visit with us met you needs and you had a comfotable stay.
You are quite correct in regards to our location, the views are simply breathtaking and some may say the best in Queenstown.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree the Point when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind Regards
Craig Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here over Easter weekend in a 2 bedroom unit with teenage boys. Whilst unit showed some signs ageing and regular tenancy, it was comfortable with plenty of room and lovely lake front views towards Frankton Arm. Even though there was full occupancy in the complex, noise was minimal and beds were comfortable allowing a good night's sleep. There is a washing machine and dryer available in the unit and plenty of hot water for showers etc - no bath. Covered car parking is available under the units but driveway access is very steep and could be an issue in winter or for drivers not accustomed to steep hill starts with limited visibility onto the road at the top of the driveway.
Although comfortable, we felt the general condition of the unit let it down a bit for the price we paid but this could be easily remedied through improved cleaning and maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#36 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#41 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
#21 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mantra Marina
Mantra Marina
#13 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Property: BreakFree The Point
Address: 239 Frankton Road | PO Box 1775, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 Kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups. Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. Maintenance Notice: There is road works going on at the moment on the BreakFree The Point driveway for next few days. There might be slight disruptions occasionally. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. Kindly contact the hotel reception or me on below contact details if you face any difficulties at any point of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing