We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable unit - lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree The Point
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here over Easter weekend in a 2 bedroom unit with teenage boys. Whilst unit showed some signs ageing and regular tenancy, it was comfortable with plenty of room and lovely lake front views towards Frankton Arm. Even though there was full occupancy in the complex, noise was minimal and beds were comfortable allowing a good night's sleep. There is a washing machine and dryer available in the unit and plenty of hot water for showers etc - no bath. Covered car parking is available under the units but driveway access is very steep and could be an issue in winter or for drivers not accustomed to steep hill starts with limited visibility onto the road at the top of the driveway.
Although comfortable, we felt the general condition of the unit let it down a bit for the price we paid but this could be easily remedied through improved cleaning and maintenance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree The Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 260 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very welcome to stay in a large well appointed apartment with great views of snow capped mountains. Yes in March. The management could take a little better care to ensure that all facilities are working correctly. A little inconvenient having to call the office for assistance. Apart from that the convenience of a short stroll to town is worth it. Will stay again if the opportunity occurs.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed with my wife in Feb 2012 for a week through a timeshare offer. For the amount we paid it represented good value, but felt the apartment was a little tired and it wouldn't have been worth the rack rate. There weren't many units occupied when we were there so access via the steep driveway wasn't too bad - it could get interesting in the height of winter.
The kitchen was well equipped and the views were magnificent (middle tier of units). The upstairs area got quite warm during the day, even when leaving the windows open.
Walking to town along Frankton Rd took 25 to 30 minutes, or a little longer by the lakeside track.

Room Tip: The 2br units in the middle tier appear to have the best views. The 3br units are closer to the wate...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ochlophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This motel is right next to the lake so you have a very nice view. Spacious room and bathroom. Everything seemed clean except for the big stain on the top blanket / comforter. The kitchenette is pretty much complete. Quite disappointed though that you have to wash up before you check out or you'll be charged NZD25. Didn't see that in other motels. It's a 30 minute walk to the town center via the Frankton Walkway (direct access from the hotel). It's a very nice walk when the weather's fine. But when it's raining and you had a little bit too much to drink, the distance becomes a hassle. They also had complete cable channels. This really helped when we stayed in because of the rain and nursed a hangover. If I go back to Queenstown, I'll look for a place nearer to town, but will still keep this motel in my list.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

One word... WOW!! This was the definite highligh of my trip. Absolutely stunning views, gorgeous self-contained apartment. Stayed here 3 nights, could have stayed forever. A bit of a steep driveway to get in, but overall, cannot complain. A beautiful home away from home, everything you could wish for and more. Loved it, would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Self contained apartment all the way :)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank got_the_travel_bug82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse with family.
The house was huge with everything you need - fully stocked kitchen, two bathrooms, washer and dryer etc.
The location is beautiful - we had amazing lake views from our balcony.
It's a bit of a trek from town - 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteNHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

you will need a car to drive into the city or a bus. otherwise it will be a good 20-25 min walk into town.
The one bedroom which I stayed was simple, neat, nothing more, nothing less. I thought it was expensive to what you would normally get around Queenstown. The room I stayed will be very cold in the winter, so be prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacaranda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#39 of 57 in Queenstown
802 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 57 in Queenstown
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.6 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#10 of 93 in Queenstown
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Address: 239 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $123 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. During winter Queenstown is a haven for snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors hiking the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. To relax there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, featuri ng ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing