We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beyond good service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our second stay at the Dairy. It is the best service I have received in any hotel anywhere - full stop. Whether it was making restaurant reservations for us, and then happily changing them as we changed our minds or recommending some beautiful walks around the Queenstown area or tailoring our breakfasts to our personal whims each day, there was nothing that seemed to be a too much of a problem for the owners. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveryOtherYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    67
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
78
640
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Matt and Paul go more than the extra km to make a stay at the Dairy memorable and fun. From beds that encourage a dreamless sleep to breakfasts that enliven the senses to fireside afternoon tea with the lightest of scones this hotel is a product of passion, commitment to excellence and extraordinary attention to detail. And all within a short walk to Jervois, Rata and Botswana Butchery. Heaven on a stick!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The three nights either side of 5 days in the Mt Aspiring and Fiordland national parks made this the most outstanding holiday of a lifetime. The Dairy's owners Paul and Matt have created a complete package for an intimate experience of elegant luxury with their eye for the finest detail in this boutique B&B that is an Oasis in the middle of Queenstown. The beautifully appointed rooms are accompanied by the elegant but homely lounge where we sat by the fire and had gorgeous afternoon teas, chatting with other guests. We are not inclined to strike up conversations with strangers but found ourselves enjoying the fellow travellers to the extent that we twice went to dinner in town with a couple who were staying at the Dairy. We relaxed in the library with a glass of wine (the honesty bar is well stocked and extremely reasonably priced). The breakfasts in the original old dairy were outstanding and Matt and Paul's charming personable attention left us rating this as our best hotel experience ever. Don't miss staying here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Queenstown - 2 of which were at The Dairy. We went from a luxurious apartment to the much smaller luxury hotel in town and we enjoyed both experiences very much. However, there is much that is to be recommended for the Dairy itself. The fact that it is in the heart of town makes it really easy to get about, go out for dinner and not worry about driving. The atmosphere at the hotel is what really made it special. The bedrooms are smallish but there is a lovely big lounge with oversized settees and a fire which encourage the guests to sit together communally and have a drink - a great way to meet new people and have a chat. There is a huge array of drinks in the lounge which are there for the guests to use on an 'honesty' basis. Have what you like and make a note of it. It is this kind of gesture - one of many - that makes the Dairy special and more like time spent with friends that a hotel. We had a bit of a medical crisis whilst staying and Paul was a fabulous help. Matt also prepared a fabulous breakfast for us early as we had to get off to the airport. All in all, whilst it is a bit pricey - it is a great place to stay and Paul and Matt do a fab job of making everyone feel very, very welcome.

Room Tip: Only some of the rooms have a bath - so if you really value that - you should let them know your pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

To start, I am creating a TripAdvisor account for the purpose of rating the Dairy.

After staying at many B&Bs during our three week trek through Australia and NZ, my fiancée and I agreed - our stay at the Dairy made Queenstown the best part of the trip.

Owners Matt and Paul know everything and everyone in Queenstown and go out of their way to help guests get where they need to be with no hassle and lowest cost possible. They truly ensure each guest feels special and at home to give a custom feel.

Hotel has a warm, rustic mountain lodge feel that is equal parts elegant and cozy - complete with an "honesty" liquor bar (pour yourself, overly fair pricing) beside a roaring fire in the lounge every evening and candle-lit library/reading room. Views of the mountains in the morning are best we have seen. Daily, included gourmet breakfast cooked fresh with local ingredients and afternoon tea with pastries complete the experience.

Overall, we cannot say enough to thank the Dairy for such an incredible experience. Anyone looking to get away and relax NZ style should not stay anywhere else.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I spent 2 nights at The Dairy out of 3 in Queenstown. I travel for a living and have stayed in all manner of accommodation, though I can confidently say that The Dairy is the most relaxing and chill-inducing accommodation of any type I have stayed at in my life.

The whole experience is seamless, from check-in through to check-out. It is like Paul and Matt can read your thoughts and know how to make you feel at home.

Personal highlights are the scones, tea and cake for afternoon tea, the breakfast (amazing) and the hot tub overlooking the Remarkables.

I wouldn't be too concerned about the price. It is worth it if you can afford it.

I will never stay anywhere else in Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cox-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is truly a luxury boutique hotel. Perfectly situated near the foot of the gondola in Queenstown. We where greeted by Paul as I tried to find a parking spot. He quickly directed me to a dedicated parking spot. From that moment on, we felt like we were the most important people in the world. We then met Matt who helped us sort out dinner reservations and got us into a winery that was suppose to be booked. The room was beautiful with a great view of The Remarkables. Breakfast each morning was such a treat. Matt, a former chef, delivered a fabulous breakfast, hint have his pancakes...

We felt we were leaving friends when we left. Treat yourself to one of the finest boutique hotels in the world!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of The Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Property: The Dairy Private Hotel
Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing