We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dairy Private Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$127
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$225
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$162
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$169
$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$118
$112
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azur(Queenstown)
$1,081
$832
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveler rating
857
85
21
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
857
85
21
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnew zealandsmall hotelsboutique hotelbreakfast was deliciouswonderful hoststhe perfect place to stayother guestshome away from homemilford soundmilford trackcomfortable roomsbreakfast rooma wonderful stayviews of the mountainswithin easy walking distancestayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 970 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying 5 nights at The Dairy the first week of March. I can't say enough good things about the accommodations, the location, and our hosts, Paul and Matt. They have thoughtfully designed everything to cater to the needs of their guests. They and the accommodations are quite welcoming. The lobby area with its comfortable furniture, fireplace, and honor bar were a special touch. It was cool during our stay, and it was nice to come back in the evening to be greeted by a fire. Tea and scones were an added touch during the afternoon. Being a breakfast eater, I was delighted by their offerings. Almost every morning I enjoyed Matt's Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. Although our hosts had much to do caring for the needs of all the guests, they never seemed rushed and always gave their full attention to each of us. They know the area well and can not only tell you about all the things to do but they will actually book them for you should you desire. We were in New Zealand three weeks and stayed in 7 different B&Bs, lodges, or hotels. I would give The Dairy the highest rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had high expectations of The Dairy. Great reviews on TA, a website which promised much and a price to match - whilst this may not be everyone's idea of pricey, it was significantly the most expensive place we stayed on our honeymoon! Well, happily enough, our four nights here exceeded expectations.

Paul and Matt obviously work damn hard to create such a comfortable, welcoming, spotlessly clean hotel and manage to balance attentiveness with knowing when to let their guests just get on with things. We found them both to be genuinely lovely, generous hosts with a mean sideline in great breakfasts and awesome afternoon teas. Special mention to the well-stocked, non-outrageously priced honesty bar and hot tub too.

I really don't think I could return to Queenstown and stay anywhere else.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tom020681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights here, separated by an excursion to hike the Milford Track. While gone we knew our luggage and valuables were safely stored by Paul and Matt. They are the nicest hosts you can ever imagine. They are very professional and there to provide any service needed. Their breakfasts are really cuisine level, soooo good. If you wish to rest and read in one of the 3 lobby areas, you will be treated to a warm fire on a cool evening, or likewise in the patio. They know the best places to dine, and will arrange reservations, taxis, etc... for you. The rooms are so clean, you don't mind doing some floor stretches.
We visited this Hotel 2 years ago, and continue to highly recommend this cozy, well cared for place to stay while in Queenstown.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It was our fortune to stay in this delightful hotel/bed and breakfast. Superbly located close to all Queenstown has to offer the less adventurous Queenstown visitor as well as the thrill seekers. Matt and Paul need to be congratulated for their impeccable taste and hospitality, they are gracious, knowledgeable and superb hosts.
Breakfast delicious and afternoon teas sublime. We intend to return.
Great taste in music as well.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

After three weeks traveling in NZ, landing at The Dairy for the last few days was fabulous. Paul and Matt are artists in hospitality. Paul greeted us the moment we arrived, carted our bags to our room and thus began our lovely stay at The Dairy. It is not a farm - dairy is a Kiwi term for a small grocery/convenience store, which is how the hotel building started life in the 1920s. Breakfast and high tea are included in the price of the room and anything your hearts may desire is available by asking Matt or Paul to arrange it. Matt is a certified chef, which shows in the cooked breakfasts and the pastries at tea. Paul is the consummate host, arranging helicopter sightseeing trips, dinner reservations, bungee jumps or hang gliding.

The Dairy is very close to the center of town, has parking for several cars, and is quiet for sleeping. The rooms are a nice size, have electrical adapters in the room and the usual coffee making supplies as well as a lovely carafe of water.

We stayed at a lot lovely lodges and hotels but it is the personality of the hosts that won our hearts at The Dairy.

Room Tip: The premium rooms have the best views. Bathroom upgrades are underway throughout the rest of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBA575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews