We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Dairy was our first stop in New Zealand after more than 24 hour flight & it was excellent! Thanks to Paul and Matt - wonderful hosts. All the time we feel so welcomed. Excellent breakfest made by hosts... And as a beer lover I was immediatly provided with a bottle of excellent NZ craft beer . The New Year celebration in Queenstown was unforgettable. We highly recommend to stay here. One of the best hotels ever visited.
James & Anda, Riga, Latvia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndaBurveRozite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    67
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
79
644
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver,CO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Dairy on 2 different occasions during our 3 week adventure to New Zealand in January 2014. Paul and Matt greeted us at the door, explained the working of the place and then let us be. They made early breakfasts for us when we required them, they made dinner reservations at wonderful places and bent over backwards to make us feel comfortable and welcomed to their establishment and Queenstown. The rooms are large, well appointed and luxurious. The location of The Dairy is superb with respect to access to Queenstown and all of its activities. We would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 on the first stay and 10 on the second stay. Both have wonderful views of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our three-week adventure in New Zealand ended in July 2013, but I'm still thinking about the breakfasts at the Dairy! We started our trip in Queenstown and spent the rest of our time searching for scones as good as the ones that appeared every afternoon for the delightful tea. From the great selection of wine in the honor bar, to a perfect view from the hot tub, to the huge jar of jelly beans waiting for us at the front door, to Matt and Paul and their great recommendations for hiking, eating, touring--everything about this place was spot on.
My husband and I have travelled all over the world and have stayed in lots of amazing places, but this is the first time I have ever written a trip advisor review! A little bit of home, the right amount of luxury, and some seriously memorable eggs benedict! Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmagmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

You simply cannot offer better hospitality and service than Paul and Matt do at the Dairy Hotel. From the greeting and assistance at the door, to the thorough tour of the hotel and explanation of extensive amenities, to the complimentary WONDERFUL tea service. They suggested and reserved us a table at The Bunker (only one of the best meals we have ever had) and then made sure to tell us to go early so as to have cocktails at the upstairs bar. Breakfast is absolutely delicious - have the Eggs Benedict! Our room was large, comfortable, cozy with a wonderful view of the Remarkables. We wish we had had more nights to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edgecombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

What a Wonderful find.
Matt and Paul make you feel so welcome.
Everything about The Dairy is pure luxury.
Beautiful rooms, very well appointed. The best breakfasts ever ( must try the omelette, yummy) you can walk to the town centre for shopping etc...
Matt and Paul are a font of information, everything from restaurants to adventure endeavors.
We highly recommend this lovely haven of a Hotel.
See you again soon.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

For us this hotel is close to perfection. We stayed for 5 nights at the end of a touring holiday of the south island and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Others have said it all - great location, great accommodation, great food, and, with Paul and Matt, great hospitality - and they are all correct. We could find no fault and it was the perfect end to our stay in NZ. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If I could give this B&B more stars I would happily do so. It is perfectly located, charming, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Its owners, Matt & Paul, are the consummate hosts: always nearby to assist, yet never intrusive. They were instrumental in helping us plan our daily activities, dinner reservations, scenic drives, massages, etc., From the delicious and hearty breakfasts each morning to the ample and delightful late afternoon tea, there is always the scent of something wonderful being baked in the kitchen. The bed was comfortable, the room intelligently and thoroughly appointed and furnished...everything one wants and expects in a B&B and rarely receives. I couldn't have asked for anything more or better, and as this is the end of our 2 week travels through beautiful New Zealand, I feel we are leaving on a spectacular high note. I couldn't recommend The Dairy any more emphatically.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesmartinNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Browns Boutique Hotel
Browns Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Property: The Dairy Private Hotel
Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing