We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diary queens town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
“Diary queens town”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very nice place with a personal touch and great eye for detail
Paul and Matt succeed in making you feel at home.
The hotel is very cosy and is kept in immaculate condition.
Breakfast is fresh and quality of food and menu choices are excellent
Highly recommend a visit there
Location is super and advise for restaurants is very good too
Very good service for trips etc

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    67
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
79
644
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Matt and Paul are wonderful hosts of this most remarkable small hotel in Queenstown, NZ.
In addition to it's excellent location, with many great restaurants and the gondola nearby these two gentlemen provide their guests with first class service and meticulous attention to detail. From the very comfortable room, to the delicious breakfasts, to all the helpful assistance in booking excursions, these two really know how to pamper their guests. The view from our window was so memorable! We would highly recommend The Dairy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Dairy for five nights in August. And we absolutely loved it. Matt and Paul didn't miss a single detail. We especially enjoyed the fresh made breakfast. The hotel is in a great location. It is a 2 minute walk to the mountain gondola and approximately 5 minute walk to "The Station" where you can pick-up many of you tours. Very easy walking to restaurants and the waterfront.

Matt and Paul arranged every site seeing trip that we wanted to do. That included zip lining, wine country tour, horse back riding and jet boating. (Make sure you take the Skippers Canyon jet boat if you want to see/hear more history of Queenstown.) They even rearranged our tours when rain was forecasted on one of the days. Matt always had a great recommendations for dinner and always offered to make us a reservation. I can't wait for our next trip to Queenstown. We will definitely be staying at the Dairy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks traveling through New Zealand, and our last stay was at The Dairy. From the moment Paul and Matt personally welcomed us, we knew it was going to be the nicest stay on our trip. The location was PERFECT; a close walk to everything in Queenstown, but a world apart in the residential area. We loved the history of the place, yet everything was up to date and top notch. Paul gave us a wonderful orientation to everything in the city, and the resources about each activity to make the most of our time there. The fresh cooked, full breakfasts were delicious, as were the homemade scones at tea time. On our last day, I went out for the adventure sports (jet boat, bungy jump and zip lining), while my husband reveled in being able to spend a quiet day reading in front of the cozy fireplace. Truly something for everyone. When I came back from my adventures after tea time was over, Paul was kind enough to prepare a plate of scones and goodies so that I could enjoy them. Matt and Paul are the perfect hosts, and make all their guests feel perfectly at home. It was the most relaxing stay on our trip, and we wished we could have stayed much longer. We highly recommend this wonderful piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of The Remarkable mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I thought this hotel was exceptional. The room we stayed in had a magnificent view of snow capped mountains and was extremely well appointed & spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious. It was the service; however, which impressed us most of all. Any question or request was attended to immediately & proved extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Paul and Matt were magnificent. Stunning views. Excellent food. superb location. We had off street parking the whole time. Try a Fergburger just down the street. See a real KIWI just up the street. Hire the Pacific Jemm at the Wharf--- what a trip------ Take a chopper to the snow and snow walk with Peter. The open fire and lounge were waiting on our return...

Room Tip: room 7 great cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the best hostel I have ever stayed at. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights this luxary B&B. Excellent service, delicious breakfast and high tea. Walking distance from the town centre and the lake. We enjoyed honesty bar on the leather sofas. We highly reccomend to stay here with your wife or girlfriend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Property: The Dairy Private Hotel
Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing