We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great break away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Right from the start Matt and Paul made you feel at ease . We had a standard room which was very comfortable and serviced to a high level each day. The breakfasts were fabulous and set us up for a great day on the ski fields , then to come back for an afternoon tea that was delicious and hard to stop nibbling at ! After that a soak in the spa with the sun over the remarkables to ease the aches before dining . If any assistance was needed Matt and Paul aided in restaurant choice and reservations . Then there was the evening by the lounge fire, where it was easy to strike conversations with fellow guests and avail yourselves of the honesty bar. Just so relaxing !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janetrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 917 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

A lovely week in The Dairy. Intended to come here for a while now, shouldn't have delayed!
Paul and Matt take great pride in their boutique hotel and it makes for a great experience
See you next year!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Dairy is exactly what it says it is, a private luxury hotel-- or at least bed-breakfast-and-afternoon-tea, located within easy walking distance of whatever is going on in Queenstown. Mathew and Paul bring their experience of hospitality from other venues and make it work spectacularly well at The Dairy. It is pricy, but worth it. Can anything top a late winter afternoon in the hot tub (drink in hand), gazing at the snow-covered Remarkables as the light fades and the stars begin to emerge overhead? Perhaps only an indoor, cozy provided afternoon tea by the blazing fireplace. While the venue and physical plant are ideal, it is the exquisite attention to detail throughout the establishment that sets The Dairy apart from others in its class: candlelight from evening, honesty bar with good local vintages, top-drawer room amenities... Your hosts can book you in at any of the fine dining establishments around town, and because they are well known you will be well looked after. If you can, stay here.

Room Tip: If you visit in winter make sure you know how to unplug the timer on the room heater-- in the silenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed in magnificent hotels and apartments around the world, and this is one of my favorites. Absolutely fabulous, the breakfast, rooms, beds, restaurant recommendations, everything!. The position is wonderful, rooms are very quiet and only 2 minutes walk to the heart of Quuenstown .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Luxury in the Hotel name truly describes the Dairy. If
you are looking for great service and a prime location the Dairy is the place to stay in Queenstown. The view, room, service, breakfast and afternoon tea are fantastic. Mathew and Paul could not be more gracious and knowledgable hosts. The dairy is only steps to the town center. I would not hesitate to recommend this small hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The Dairy is simply exceptional. We stayed 5 nights based on other trip advisor reviews and couldn't fault anything. My husband and I are well travelled and have stayed in beautiful properties around the world, but the thing that sets The Dairy apart is the exceptional hospitality and attention to detail of the two wonderful owners, Paul and Matt. Matt's breakfasts and afternoon teas are amazing and they are delightful people and so helpful. Definitely stay at the Dairy - no point looking for anywhere else in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali78Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is our second stay at the Dairy and we were, once again, delighted. The Dairy is a warm, relaxed, boutique hotel offering all the comforts of home. Paul and Matt are dedicated, friendly hosts who have a thorough knowledge of the area and what it has to offer. The breakfasts are delicious, the afternoon tea perfect and the honesty bar (beside a welcoming fire) offers everything you need to round off a perfect day. Comfy beds, a quiet location - there is nothing more to say but, "We'll be back".

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $202 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing