We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed in magnificent hotels and apartments around the world, and this is one of my favorites. Absolutely fabulous, the breakfast, rooms, beds, restaurant recommendations, everything!. The position is wonderful, rooms are very quiet and only 2 minutes walk to the heart of Quuenstown .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 917 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Luxury in the Hotel name truly describes the Dairy. If
you are looking for great service and a prime location the Dairy is the place to stay in Queenstown. The view, room, service, breakfast and afternoon tea are fantastic. Mathew and Paul could not be more gracious and knowledgable hosts. The dairy is only steps to the town center. I would not hesitate to recommend this small hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The Dairy is simply exceptional. We stayed 5 nights based on other trip advisor reviews and couldn't fault anything. My husband and I are well travelled and have stayed in beautiful properties around the world, but the thing that sets The Dairy apart is the exceptional hospitality and attention to detail of the two wonderful owners, Paul and Matt. Matt's breakfasts and afternoon teas are amazing and they are delightful people and so helpful. Definitely stay at the Dairy - no point looking for anywhere else in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali78Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is our second stay at the Dairy and we were, once again, delighted. The Dairy is a warm, relaxed, boutique hotel offering all the comforts of home. Paul and Matt are dedicated, friendly hosts who have a thorough knowledge of the area and what it has to offer. The breakfasts are delicious, the afternoon tea perfect and the honesty bar (beside a welcoming fire) offers everything you need to round off a perfect day. Comfy beds, a quiet location - there is nothing more to say but, "We'll be back".

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a lovely long weekend with Paul & Matt. Central location and good suggestions for activities and dining! Excellent breakfasts with several options to delight! Coming in off the ski slopes, delicious afternoon tea with freshly baked scones in front of the fire! That same frie providing an evening welcome to a nightcap from the honour bar! Altogether a most enjoyable stay!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was, without question, the best boutique property I have stayed in for many years. Matt and Paul run an impeccable hotel. There simply is nothing that can beat this combination of dedicated, insightful, helpful personal service, a great building, and a special feel that you cant build, specify or easily replicate. That a place can run an honesty bar that is both perfectly stocked and honestly used by all says a lot about the type of place this is and people they are. Great location, comfortable in every respect, warm, welcoming, a stay at The Dairy can be sociable if you want it, or private and secluded if you don't. If you are even considering a trip to Queenstown, stop looking for where to stay. If they have a room, you found it.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a private balcony with lake and mountain views, a lovely arched roof and ensuite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indicalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Dairy. The weather was terrible and that made it all the more cosy. I can't fault anything about it, from the delicious breakfasts and afternoon tea to the honesty bar. Very warm and relaxed atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieJane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $202 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing