We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Superb Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We hadn't been back to Queenstown in 23 years and this time were in town to walk the Milford Track. We booked into the Dairy for two nights upon arrival from Singapore and then the one more night before departing for the drive back to Christchurch. Here are the things that make the Dairy a compelling choice for accommodation. Personal service and insight offerred by Paul and Matt. They know their stuff, be it things to do, where to go, what to eat, etc and they will give you a range of choices. They even knew on the guided treks what was optimal group size! Food...breakfast, both cold and cooked was excellent. The aged cheddar in the omlette was so tasty. We only participated in afternoon tea once but it is something you should work your eating schedule around. Location, quiet at night but walking distance to most restaurants you would want to eat at as well as the harbour and the gondola chairlift. Rooms are not huge but they are comfortable, quiet and well appointed including WIFI. They also stored our bags and hire care when we were out tramping. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barolobrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 934 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We could have not stayed at a better place in Queenstown.
Hands down we would stay there again and highly highly recommend it.
Paul and Matt could have not been nicer and went out of their way to make sure our experience
was wonderful at The Dairy. The breakfast was by far the best we had in New Zealand and the room and hotel were beautifully decorated.
We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had two nights at The Dairy and absolutely loved it. The set up is very cosy and everything is in walking distance. Te true difference however is the warm welcoming care that Paul and Matt provide. They helped us to organize our brief stay very efficiently and created a great ambiance.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Janos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here for our honeymoon. The attention to detail of the rooms, the delicious breakfast and afternoon tea are all world class (the eggs Benedict are amoung the best I've had). They even arranged an early breakfast fir us on a day we had an early tour. The honesty bar is also a great idea.

Paul and Matt are the perfect hosts and there was nothing they wouldn't do for us. They were friendly to chat to and really made us feel at home and welcomed. They really do deserve to be congratulated on the quality of the dairy.

We will certainly be back. Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambino0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at The Diary for two night and we wished we had booked longer. The stand out feature of staying here is Matt and Paul, who went out of their way to ensure the experience we had inside and outside of the hotel was the best it could be. Excellent breakfasts, warm friendly atmosphere, great facilities (the hot tub with views of the mountains was fab) and the afternoon teas were a lovely touch. The only observation is the that rooms aren’t particularly special – a little ordinary, but there is so much else on offer at The Diary you would be mad not to book a few nights here! Thanks for a great stay boys!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Matt and Paul are the prize innkeepers we all dream about when traveling. The location is perfect, the rooms and beds very comfortable, and the overall atmosphere just plain homey and relaxing. From wonderful thoughtful suggestions to the finest of small touches, it makes you realize how important it is where and with whom you stay. We wish they were in all of our favorite spots to visit. A huge thanks to them for making it all happen with so much charming delightfulness!!

Room Tip: Any and all... no worries on the room choice.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenedoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the quiet sanctuary of The Dairy, we felt ourselves relaxing. The jar of brightly coloured jelly beans on the entrance table a quirky touch that made us smile. Matt and Paul are the epitome of understated yet impeccable hosts. Our room was so comfortable and the breakfasts sublime. The poached eggs Hollandaise are a MUST! As are the light and scrumptious scones we enjoyed with a delicious cup of Earl Grey the afternoon we arrived - served with the utmost style and warmth in the welcoming and stylish lounge. Their friendly and helpful advice regarding where to go and where to eat was also great. A must if you are heading to beautiful Queenstown!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $210 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing