We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had an amazing time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you want excellent service and a great place to stay this is where to go. Paul makes sure your stay is amazing. On the first day Paul waited for us to arrive because our flight in was canceled and we had to drive from Christchurch. We got in past midnight and then he was up by 6 the next morning making breakfast. And by the way the breakfast is top notch, everything was great but the omelette is just outstanding. Thank you guys for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bojangler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 903 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay close to the centre of Queenstown. Matt and Paul were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is small, intimate and perfect for a few days away. After several days hiking, the rooms, especially the bath, were a welcome sight. Would definitely stay again if we are ever in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A group of us spent three nights at the Dairy in November 2012 and enjoyed Matt's and Paul's flawless and genuinely warm hospitality. The furnishings are superb and the whole hotel is kept immaculately clean. The home cooked breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. We would come back to the hotel for the daily afternoon tea of fresh scones, brownies and other biscuits and slices and enjoy a cup of tea by the fireplace or outside in the courtyard. After our first afternoon tea, we fashioned the rest of our afternoons around the freshly cooked treats from Matt and Paul they were that delicious! Matt and Paul gave wonderful recommendations for restaurants and managed to get us great tables when making the bookings for us. Paul even loaned us a supermarket cooler bag and pointed us to the Mediterranean Market when we mentioned that we wanted to buy some cheese and crackers. Matt and Paul are charming hosts and this place is definitely a luxurious boutique experience. I look forward to coming back here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmybean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Paul and Matt look after you with genuine warmth, care and courtesy. Nothing is too much trouble in booking trips ( and unbooking trips!) and providing for your every need. The log fire and library make for a wonderful homely feel and the rooms are spacious without being too big with plenty of hot water for those post rafting baths.
The breakfast is great - lots of fresh fruit and home made cooked breakfasts including healthy porridge and indulgent pancakes ( but not so big that you might sink later on the Shotover Jet). The teas are something else altogether - the best, lightest fluffiest scones in the world - truly.
If you are looking for somewhere cosy with a lot of TLC then this is for you.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the moutons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Simply fantastic: The Dairy is literally a 3-5 minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. It is beautifully quiet with luxurious and tastefully decorated rooms. The service is exactly what should define "boutique". We were greeted and talked through everything we needed to know about the hotel and Queenstown itself. Any activities...helicopter trip over the Sounds, plane trip, speed boat trips...whatever you want to do they can sort it for you. Laundry? Just fill up the basket they leave for you outside your door and "leave it to us". And that is what it really feels like..you can just kick back and relax. The communal area is lit by candles at night...there is an outdoor open fire and an indoor one for that matter. The jacuzzi looks out ov e moutains and is spotless and maintained at the perefect temperature. It's just an excellent place which is managed discretely to perfection. You need to stay here because it is perfect.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Trippguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Dairy and it was an amazing experience! The welcome was very cheerful, room was simply perfect and the breakfast amazing! More Paul and Matt are always ready to advise you and to help you with any booking. An unique experience that you must at least once enjoy in your lifetime!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_Didier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days, the attention to detail by both Matt and Paul was unbelievable. We let them know our interests and the time we had in Queenstown, and they made all the arrangements - reservations/tours/etc.. If there is one thing to complain about - "they could not control the weather".

Will definitely stay there the next time we are in Queenstown.

Thiru & Deb.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a room with a view of the Remarkables. If not, no problem, just step out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $196 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing