We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Dairy Hotel" is best kept secret of Queenstown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel is a boutique hotel centrally located 2 blocks up from town and 2 blocks down from the gondola… making it the ideal location for the perfect stay. Paul and Matt are the proprietors of the hotel. They are warm and friendly and are exceptional at running this establishment.

Breakfast and afternoon tea are wonderful. Tea is served in the lounge where beautiful music plays and there is an open fire blazing in the fireplace. In the evening there is wine and spirits available also in the lounge on the honor system. A very relaxing atmosphere indeed!

Paul and Matt are very knowledgeable about the restaurants and tours in and around the area. They are very happy to make arrangements as needed. All you have to do is ask.

From the jelly beans in the large jar at the front door entrance... to the snuffing of candles when the last guest goes to their room… The Dairy makes you feel like you are at home. A warm and inviting a place everyone should experience.

Room Tip: On the second floor facing the mountain is the best for best sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 926 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just spent 2 fabulous nights at The Dairy! We looked at various big chain hotel options, but we are so glad we opted for The Dairy. In our jobs we both have to talk to people all day, so we normally stay in more anonymous accommodation, but Paul & Matt struck the perfect balance between making us feel welcome without being intrusive. Their local advice was excellent too.
The lounge with an open fire was such luxury, after being out & about in the cold. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious, as was afternoon tea. Location was ideal as well. Quick walk into town but nice & quiet.
Our parting words were "we'll be back!!"

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had walked past The Dairy a couple of years ago and thought it looked a nice place. Prior to booking this trip we looked up the reviews on Tripadvisor and the decision was made to stay.

We were very impressed with the personal service both Paul and Matt gave. They are extremely accommodating and flexible. The genuinely take the time to talk with their guests and assist wherever possible.

The breakfast and afternoon teas are excellent, great flavours and nice portion sizing. The hotel is pristine and you are encouraged to relax as you would at home. All in all, excellent value and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is first class in every way. It is very homely, clean and the food is to die for. Hosts are very professional and attentive to the guests needs. Very good location to everything in Queenstown. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with view of the Mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneytraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

You read the plethora of 5 star reviews and think, surely it can't be that good can it? Well, it's my happy duty to report that yes it is. Nestled conveniently at the foot of the Gondola lift, it's one of those rare guest houses that transcends the hotel experience and genuinely offers an intimate, homely experience - if only my home was this good. Tea and cake in front of a roaring fire is not to be missed, nor is breakfast, or a dip in the hot tub. The best tribute I can pay is to say that if I was unable to leave the guesthouse to look around, I wouldn't have been that bothered. Keep up the good work gents and let me know how our application to live with you permanently gets on.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just loved our three day stay at The Dairy. Paul and Matt were fantastic hosts - their attention to detail was second to none. This place is so unique - cozy, warm and inviting! Very comfortable - almost like a home away from home.
Breakfasts, afternoon teas, selection of wines and spirits were spot on! Bedding and linen of excellent standard. Wonderful views of the mountains and township.
We seriously could not find a single thing to explain or feel disappointed about.
We will return!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The moment we arrived for my 40th we we're thoroughly spoilt. Both Paul and Matt pampered to our every needs - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself was fabulously located, exceptionally clean and had a lovely chic feel. Rooms were well appointed with all that needed. Loved the Molten Brown products! And the basket of washing sent out and retruned washed & folded by early evening! Both Paul & Matt delighted us with their attention to detail, service & humour. They cooked amzing breakfasts, booked wineries & a massage. Loved it and could think of no better place to stay in Queenstown! Well done chaps - it was just gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $205 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing