We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dairy Private Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$234
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$151
$138
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks Club Resort(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$176
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$118
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$110
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$184
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Autoline Motel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinross Cottages(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$173
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whistler Holiday Apartments(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$138
$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveler rating
853
83
21
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
853
83
21
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnew zealandsmall hotelsboutique hotelbreakfast was deliciouswonderful hoststhe perfect place to stayother guestshome away from homemilford soundmilford trackcomfortable roomsbreakfast rooma wonderful stayviews of the mountainswithin easy walking distancestayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
748 - 753 of 963 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Dairy gets every detail right. Bedding, decor, bathing products, the common rooms are lux, contemporary cool, and very comfortable. Matt and Paul, the owners, are truly amazing. Gracious, thoughtful, funny, and unbelievably dedicated to providing outstanding service. Staying here feels like staying with friends - friends with a gorgeous home who know how to host.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradyW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Ultra High-class Treatment is guaranteed if you stay at the Dairy. Matt and Paul have cloned themselves so they run an amazing operation between them with delicious breakfasts and afternoon teas, elegant but luxurious rooms, and perfectly tailored tour and restaurant recommendations.

I thought Queenstown itself was far too commercialised - Wanaka is much preferable. But the Dairy is the perfect place to stay if you must go there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ap T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our 3-day stay at the Dairy. Paul and Matt are just the most gracious hosts-- a warm welcome, help with directions, activities and restaurants, gracious afternoon tea, great breakfasts, and a special treat of a big bowl of warm popcorn while we were watching TV in the library.

The room was a nice size, not a great view as you are in a residential neighborhood but when standing at the window, we could see the mountains. The appointments were lux, i.e. bedding, towels, etc. Wifi was free and worked well and they also had a PC available for guest use. It is located only a few blocks from the main shopping/dining area so you can walk to everything.

One downside, it is on the street to the gondola so you do tend to have people walking past the building pretty much all of the time but it wasn't too disturbing. In fact, it would probably have been louder at one of the hotels nearer the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Old Dairy is a fantastic place to stay. It is just a short walk from the centre of Queenstown - but far enough that there is very little evening noise. The hotel is very clean and very stylish. The breakfast is magnificent...amongst the best I have had at a hotel. However, the Old Dairy's greatest asset is the hotel owners. They are friendly, helpful and informative. We felt that they constantly went beyond what we expected from hotel staff. The Old Dairy is expensive, but there is no doubt that it is great value for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveryOtherYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was our last stop on our month long trip to New Zealand and from the moment we arrived Matt and Paul made us feel at home ! Matts dry sense of humour kept us happy as did the wonderful breakfasts and fabulous afternoon teas!! Both the boys have terrific local knowledge and booked three excellent restaurants for us,managing to get us window seats each night.The Dairy is very comfortable and the open fire in the outside area is a lovely touch.Our whole experience of the dairy was excellent and we really didn't want to leave!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblesandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews