We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

YHA Queenstown lakefront is located about 10-15 minutes by foot outside Queenstown's town centre. The rooms are simple, but nice. All place in the hostel were very clean and well equipped. The kitchen has a lovely view towards Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. The staff were friendly and happy to help.
I hope to stay here again in the future :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nici1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 340 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Never stayed in a hostel before so was a little apprehensive. But it was great, the kitchen was really good, as was the bathrooms and showers. rooms were good and bed comfy and everything was very clean. TV/movie room as well as an internet lounge, although the wifi was $5 for 24 hours or $1 for 15 minutes on the computer. Great location, a short walk from town, with lovely little beaches on the lakefront.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the stairs, they are very creaky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleykh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great hostel, quiet and relaxed feel. Short, pleasant walk into town. Never any problems with the cleanliness of the rooms, kitchen or bathrooms as they are regularly cleaned. All reception staff are always friendly and very helpful especially Bron!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjk2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Noise a real problem even at 4am, to be fair on the YHA out neighbours were particularly inconsiderate (and not shy!!!) but the walls should be thick enough to prevent your from hearing every little noise. We stayed in a double room so didn't expect so much noise as a dorm but were mistaken. Perfect if your up for a party but don't stay here if you want any sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at the YHA awaiting some adventure activities in August and then again in September passing through. On both occasions the staff were very friendly. We travelled as a three both times.

First visit we had a lake view one next to probably the best shower in the whole place. The room was the one on the left corner when facing the hostel ;p The only downfall is that there are not enough power points in the room and when I requested an adapter they unfortunately could not give me one ;s

The second visit we had the three bed dorm near the kitchen. Strangely this room was quieter and although we did not have the views the room was so much bigger and there were power points galore ;p

The nice thing about this hostel over the one in the town is that there is ample free parking and it is only a five minute stroll into the town so you always have a nice walk going for a pint ;p

Room Tip: For a view ask for one of the two left hand side rooms as you face the building. I unfortunately do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilVik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The disappointing room and horrible bed overwhelmed any other positives the YHA Queenstown Lakefront might have. The bed was a thin mattress on a unstable base and was not up to the standard for any paid accommodation. The room was barely bigger than the bed with a single small chair. and nothing else. The front desk staff were very helpful shifting the remainder of our booking to the YHA Queenstown Central.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fryphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA N, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at YHA Queenstown Lakefront and that you were not happy with your room. An unstable bed is most definitely not up to standard. As well as our cleaning staff, our reception staff also carry out daily room checks to make sure everything is in working order. It looks like this one was missed.

I hope you were able to report the issues to reception so our staff could put you in a different room. Safety of our guests is of the utmost importance to us.

Our staff did report a broken bed leg in one of the rooms and this bed is now being replaced. To be 100% sure that we’ve found the right room, could you let us know which room you stayed in?


Many apologies,

Sue Fairclough
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hostel is right on the lake so you can have a nice walk whenever you want. Close to shops and downtown. Queenstown is very beautiful and there are plenty of walks all around the area. The staff was great and helped us with everything. The beds were nice and bathrooms were the best. Kitchen was huge and is a good place to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#16 of 93 in Queenstown
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
#13 of 93 in Queenstown
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Address: 88 - 90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $23 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Queenstown Lakefront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the beauty and excitement of Queenstown but still get a good night’s sleep, then YHA Queenstown Lakefront is the hostel for you. This newly refurbished hostel brings you fully-equipped, modern facilities, a ten minute stroll along the lakefront to the centre of Queenstown. Our location on Lake Wakatipu offers stunning views from our common areas and many of our bedrooms, some with their own lakeview balcony. The hostel features 2GB free WiFi per day, fully-equipped kitchen, TV lounge, laundry, a drying room for ski & tramping gear, dedicated snowboard, ski & bike storage, lockers in all shared rooms, some on-site parking (a rarity in Queenstown!), 24-hour guest access, outdoor patio area, and a team of friendly staff who can help with travel and activity bookings free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Queenstown Lakefront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing