We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just...sigh...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just...sigh...”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

So much noise!!!!!! A lot of young adults, so we didn't sleep really good since they came back from partying/drunk at around 4-5 o'clock in the morning. The bathrooms on the 3rd floor are shared (male/female) bathroom, so they tend to get messy really fast. . It's a really big YHA so the kitchen gets messy to! The rooms are really small, we had a 2 twin bed room and we could barely fit both of our backpacks. The staff is nice

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineAndAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    125
    63
    18
    10
See reviews for
23
78
115
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We loved our time in Queenstown, but our experience in a double room at the Yha wasn't great! The room fit the double bed in but was so small we struggled to fit our bags in and moving round the room was then limited to climbing across the bed. Having paid more for the double we were disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temuka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

It is large, clean and can be a bit load. If you are not a YHA mamber it can get a bit expensive. The staff are very helpfull and Queenie is a great place to visit, from throwing your self of a bridge to walking some of the best scenery in NZ you can not go wrong. The night life is fantastic as your room mates may want to tell you at 2 in the morning.

If you are doing the YHA thing, go to the lovely little hostel in Wanaka. I would rate Wanaka as the best place in the South Island, shhh.... don't tell anyone.

Room Tip: If you want quiet don't go six bed dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2012


Queenstown seemed to be a good place to stay for a few days while exploring the surrounding area. I booked for one night at the Lakefront YHA and liked it so much that I stayed longer. The staff helped me find some interesting day trips and the hotel itself had all the comforts of a much more expensive hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Aroha
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed on the top floor in a twin room, very small, which made it difficult to pack and arrange contents of our back packs in between hiking trips. Good quality bed, but when next to a shower that can be used all night .. (other patrons ignore rules to stop showering after 11 pm) it is difficult to find a peaceful sleep even with ear plugs. Facilities are shared, and if you are not one of the first to use kitchen, shower or toilet, it can be quite messy.
I liked the lounge and dining room, they provided 1st class views of the lake and we were welcome to stay even after official check out time from our rooms. Utensils in kitchen were plenty

Room Tip: Away from communal shower or staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTeAroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We had a car, so staying a little further out of town along Lakeside drive was great. Drove past the other YHA in town and we definitely had the better option! We had a fantastic room at the front with a window that swung open wide, letting in a breeze from the lake (it was SO hot in Qtown!) Fantastic sized kitchen and lots of space to chill out and relax, didn't feel crowded at all.

Room Tip: The triple room upstairs at the end of the corridor, facing the lake, was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyhellothere2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

we stayed here with a group of 12 friends either side of a Trek on the Routeburn Track. the walk to town was a bit of a pain given we kept going back and forward but the facilities were all good. dispite booking our accomodation a fair bit in advance, both times we checkked in it was a bit of a drama and we were separated over 4 rooms the first time and 2 rooms the second time (because they had double booked our group in so they had lots of spare space). was a good laundry which coped with all the festy hike gear from all 12 of us after a 3 day trek. good thing we had rooms to ourselves as we were pretty stinky. was really super hot and stuffy at night though, not much could be done with one little window.

Room Tip: sleep next to the window but put on insect repellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#20 of 90 in Queenstown
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Property: YHA Queenstown Lakefront
Address: 88 - 90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the beauty and excitement of Queenstown but still get a good night’s sleep, then YHA Queenstown Lakefront is the hostel for you – and it’s only a 10 minute walk into town. A comfortable fully equipped hostel sitting right on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, offering stunning views of the lake and Remarkables mountain range. The hostel includes a drying room for ski & tramping gear and dedicated snowboard, ski & bike storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Queenstown Lakefront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing