We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with complimentary wine and hors d'oerves each evening & great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B with complimentary wine and hors d'oerves each evening & great breakfast!”
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Complimentary wine and snack hour let us meet other guests, which was fun. Hostess Sandra, and chef Rob were personable and helpful. Rob's custom-cooked breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckieart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    35
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
271
34
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed in July for 5 nights with a mate for skiing and to party, what a great experience.
Louise and the team at Queenstown house couldnt have made our trip easier and our stay more pleasant. From when we arrived and had our ski gear stashed in their secure lock-up, to when Louise organised a ride up to Coronet Peak for us with a friend of hers, we had a great time.
A staff member recommended some bars to try and we had some great nights out. It was great waking up every morning to have breakfast and coffee ready to fortify us before another day up the hill.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I couldn't imagine a better place to stay in Queenstown! The Queenstown house is nestled on a hill overlooking the towering Remarkables and glacier blue Lake Wakatipu. An absolute ideal location within walking distance of restaurants and shops. (There is a bit of a hill to concur to get back to the House after visiting the downtown area, but there would be no spectacular view without it...)

Louise and Sandra genuinely care about their guests. From the cleanliness of the rooms and fresh flowers on the table, to essentials in the fridge and an incredible "made to order" breakfast in the morning, no detail seemed to be too small for the team. All of our activities, including a wine tour and jet boat ride, were booked through the Queenstown house making our stay completely stress free. I absolutely recommend The Queenstown House to all looking for a relaxing vacation and an impeccable display of Kiwi Hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addicted2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This was our fourth visit to Queenstown House in the last 6 years. It is always the highlight of our New Zealand trips. It feels like we are going to visit family. The accomodations and service were absolutely the best and Louise and her staff went out of her way to make our visit a great experience. It seems each visit is better than the last one.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2010

I would like to extend our thanks to Louise and her team for the wonderful time we spent in Queenstown. Queenstown House is friendly, intimate, and you felt as if you were a guest in a private home, rather than a number in a multinational chain of Hotels. The cooked breakfast was wonderful. Of course there were 4 of us, and we each wanted something different.

The house has a charmingly indiosyncratic design, and shows the effect of evolution over the last 30 years, but everywhere were personal touches that made it feel like home. The service was flawless, from the heater turned on in our room for our arrival, to the welcoming tea/coffee and biscuits, and the 'happy hour' glass of wine. The staff we encountered were personable, friendly and knowledgeable. Louise made sure that we knew where to go to join our trip for the Milford Track, and knew the sorts of things that were helpful to us.
Yes, the house is up a rather steep rise from the town, and yes, it did present a final challenge walking up there after our efforts on the track, but it was well worth it, and the bottle of bubbly that Louise cracked open to celebrate our return and our achievement in completing the Milford Track was a lovely and welcome touch.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Wonderful views, professional/friendly service, amazing all night sleep in luxurious beds, delicious breakfast and lovely 'Happy Hour" nibbles and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tararuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Booked for 2 nights - stayed for one. The only disappointing hotel in our NZ tour. Overpriced with ideas above its station, "boutique" only in its own estimation. The website photos have been airbrushed to remove power lines and posts, the main road with school run passes the door, and the rooms are not of the advertised quality - see photo of view from Lakeview room. There was not enough parking, the breakfast was meagre, and the common rooms were cramped and in need of a makeover. Enough said??

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenstownLulu, Owner at Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Sadly one prisoner will only see the bars whereas the other will only see the stars. We are located 200m from the CBD, not the country ! LOUISE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Browns Boutique Hotel
Browns Boutique Hotel
#6 of 58 in Queenstown
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments

Property: Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Address: 69 Hallenstein Street | Central Queenstown, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200M to the centre of Queenstown. The elevated position offers outstanding views of l;ake Wakatipu and mountains.This well established boutique B&B is just 200m to the inner hub of downtown Queenstown . A discreet distance from the action offering stylish service with a relaxed atmosphere, New Zealand style. A range of accommodation from Luxury Suites/Apartments with private balconies and open fires to charming Bed and Breakfast rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Renowned for its outstanding New Zealand hospitality, guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the lakeview dining room each morning. In the evening a hosted pre-dinner get together to sample local wines and hors d'oeuvres, exchange experiences and organize dinner reservations.Knowledgable hosts are happy to help with excursion planning. Complimentary WIFI in all rooms,Off street parking & luggage storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing