We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in an overpriced city.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pinewood Lodge
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value in an overpriced city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This has more of a rustic, cabin feel. The lodge is centrally located as it is about a 5-10 minute walk to "downtown" Queenstown. They also have an onsite restaurant that serves cheap pizzas. Wifi is also reasonably priced, but I had issues using the wifi. When I mentioned this to the staff, the refunded my money so that was nice. There are three dogs that roam the premises, which I found charming, but I really fear that they might get run over one day as there are several out of towners who aren't aware that there are dogs there. Super sweet dogs though in case anyone has a fear of dogs. I would stay here again as it is such a good value for the money and the staff was very friendly and helpful and they can book any activity you want. The lodge is also a quick walk to the gondola and the Kiwi bird park (a must do when there). Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    148
    98
    56
    65
See reviews for
91
117
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just stayed on night here. The house we stayed in was very run down and in desperate need for new furniture and a revamp. The mattress was so soft we both go sucked into the vaccum of the middle of the bed. Very uncomfortable. Cheap but not really worth it to be honest. The staff were banging around cleaning out the bathroom in the morning well before the 10am check out time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very lovely place, great location, clean rooms! My friend and I enjoyed the stay with clean tidy quiet rooms. The parking where our room was, was a little small and a few more spaces would have been nice as we had to park further down road. But really enjoyed our stay. I would definately stay at Pinewood Lodge again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenfrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Pinewood Lodge combines everything you need from a lodge (a clean comfy bed and strong water pressure) with everything you want (atmosphere and an all-star staff). The set up of the place is unique in that it is divided into separate units. It gives you a bit of personal space as well as a refreshingly homey feel. Plenty of communal areas ensures that even a solo traveler like myself can easily meet new people. The place itself is top notch to be sure, but the cherry on top of it all is definitely the staff. They are willing to bend over backwards and do a somersault through fire if it means you’re going to have a more enjoyable stay. The whole team is friendly, professional, and just generally kick butt. I’m sure at least 7 of my questions were completely inane, but the staff not only answered them but went above and beyond their role providing answers with genuine enthusiasm. Talking to reception is like chatting with your best friend about the gnarly activities you plan to tackle. (Except in this case your buddie is incredibly knowledgeable on the area and can sort you out with gear, information, and whatever else you need.) Their knowledge is vast and they are more than willing to share it. The trampoline may have initially sold me on the place, but it’s the staff that will keep me coming back. Oh! And the mountain biking is mad and this is the prime spot to get out there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were warmly welcome at the reception. They were also very helpful during our stay. The room was good. I would equipped the kitchen with some more utensils may be?
Pizzas are available at their small restaurant, but we didn't try. Laundry is also available, full suspended mountain bike as well.
A small track is leading you directly from the lodge to the gondola.
We enjoyed our stay overthere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked 4 nights and had mixed feelings when first saw room - bit small we thought. But turned out fine. Has a communal kitchen which made for some social interaction. Forget the wifi - go to town! Good location about 10 min walk to the centre. Price at $120nz a night was reasonable for queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcanddp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#46 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#22 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#17 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Lodge

Property: Pinewood Lodge
Address: 48 Hamilton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinewood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Value Accommodation for Backpackers, Modest Travellers and Groups Who Want to Experience the World-Famous Queenstown Region!We pride ourselves in being able to offer an excellent variety of accommodation- everything from dorm beds, inexpensive double and twin rooms, deluxe en-suite rooms with private bathroom amenities and self-contained family cabins. We have 27 units spread over three peaceful acres. Even better, all of our units feature their own lounge, fully-equipped kitchens and toilet/shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Pinewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing