We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy and good enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinewood Lodge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy and good enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Though traveling in groups, my partner and i stayed in block U and had our own double with en suite and lovely kitchen to share. It's not too bad for what it is, great location to get about to the city. A little concerned when they forgot to come to our rooms and change our towels and pad up the toilet rolls, but otherwise all good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dearveruca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    148
    99
    56
    65
See reviews for
91
119
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at Pinewood for about 2 months when I first arrived in Queenstown and loved it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, giving excellent advice on things to do around Queenstown and even helping me find a job. The hostel is in a good location and has a great atmosphere, one of the best hostels I've stayed in on my travels would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Unit A is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeScottishLassInNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had planned to stay at the pinewood for two nights and ended up staying five! The location is great and a five minute walk from the centre. The staff are really friendly and went out of their way to help us. There are great facilities for self catering and hot showers. The hub offers t.v, internet and pizza and there's a spa at the pinewood too. Great value for money and I would recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Fantastic hostel, great location, accommodation and staff. Stayed in a few different hostels within QT, pinewood is definitely my favourite. Its just a short 5min walk out of town, which gets you away from all the noise of QT itself. Great atmosphere, the hub is a wicked little spot to hang out, sky tv and pizzas. All the staff are brilliant Carla, Stina and all the reception guys make you feel really welcome. Ten out of Ten. Cheers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammoore90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good value for money can be hard to find in Queenstown. But this place has nice tidy modern facilities, convenient to town, friendly staff, and reasonably priced for what they offer. I do not really have anything further to add, but this thing requires a minimum of 200 characters for whatever reason, so I hope this last part has fulfilled that requirement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's away from the town so it's quiet - yet close enough that you don't have far to walk to enjoy the city and sights. The atmosphere was great, and the staff were always smiling and happy - very friendly. They were also very helpful, looking up information for us and booking things for us when we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattFoster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Awesome atmosphere with friendly staff & a chilled out environment
Awesome atmosphere with friendly staff & a chilled out environment
Awesome atmosphere with friendly staff & a chilled out environment
Awesome atmosphere with friendly staff & a chilled out environment

Room Tip: Great access to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danas666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#46 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Reavers Lodge
Reavers Lodge
#56 of 57 in Queenstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#17 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Lodge

Property: Pinewood Lodge
Address: 48 Hamilton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Value Accommodation for Backpackers, Modest Travellers and Groups Who Want to Experience the World-Famous Queenstown Region!We pride ourselves in being able to offer an excellent variety of accommodation- everything from dorm beds, inexpensive double and twin rooms, deluxe en-suite rooms with private bathroom amenities and self-contained family cabins. We have 27 units spread over three peaceful acres. Even better, all of our units feature their own lounge, fully-equipped kitchens and toilet/shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing