We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location in town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hotel is in a great location across from the lake and close to all restaurants and bars. If skiing the shuttle for the slopes is only a short 5 minute walk. Staff are friendly. Only negative is that it feels a bit dated in decor especially the corridors.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lake view room if you are here for anything apart from skiing. If you are here for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyThoughtsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    556
    114
    32
    17
See reviews for
268
738
76
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience at this hotel. Probably its greatest asset is its location. You can easily and quickly walk anywhere in downtown Queenstown from here, making it a great place from which to explore the city. The customer service was also great throughout. The activity desk guy was super friendly and they gave us a nice gift for our anniversary. The bar had great hot chocolates. While the lobby looks brand new the actual floors and rooms are starting to show some aging. This is purely aesthetic though and doesn't take away from any of the amenities. Free internet for reward members, great! Charge for non-optional valet parking, not so great. We didn't get the lake view room we requested but we still had a great view of mountains and some lake. The view from an actual lake view is probably incredible.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Chad2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am pleased you had and great experience while staying with us in Queenstown.
Great to hear that you enjoyed our customer service and was able to book some of the great activities that are on offer.
I will take your comments on board and discuss with our interior decorator during our next property walk.

Great to hear you enjoyed our free internet.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are looking for a place located close to the Queenstown "action" this is the place to be. It is adjacent to the Earnslaw Wharf and very handy to everything. We had a lake view room but were on the first floor, so had to walk out onto the balcony to catch a glimpse of the lake. Not a problem for us, but if you want to look out at the lake - ask for higher floor in the first building.
The room was an average size, with comfortable king size bed and we were happy with pillows and bedding. There was a nice comfy chair and ottoman in the room as well as a good sized desk for working on. The bathroom was adequate - not luxurious, but clean with plentiful, fluffy towels.
We ate at the restaurant for an evening meal and breakfast and have no complaints.
We had a drink in the bar and it was cosy on a bitterly cold night.
The concierge arranged a rental car for us at short notice and he was very obliging and got us a great deal. In fact all the staff from check in to porter and wait staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
All things considered - we'd return and next time ask for a room on a higher floor looking out at the lake.

Room Tip: Higher floor, in the first building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and the experience was definitely a mixed bag. While the location is excellent and the staff extremely friendly and responsive - the check in was quick, all requests to house keeping and room service were tended to quickly - there are a number of aspects that could be much better.

The buffet breakfast is strictly average and the al la carte options that we tried were not something that should come out of any kitchen. My wife ordered pancakes and they came out burnt and hard.

Again, if you're staying on the 6th level, there is no elevator service and it is an extremely long and convoluted walk to access the elevators.

The room was comfortable but the bathroom extremely small and cramped.

If you do decide to stay here, ask for a lake facing room and do avoid the food.

Room Tip: Lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Chatur,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, check in experience and the location of the hotel. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to the quality of food. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I booked 3 nights here on points and I am IHG platinum. I got upgraded to a lake facing room w/ balcony on the 2nd floor. The staff here was amazing. The concierge and the front desk made several phone calls on my behalf regarding tours and contacting the airport as my wife forgot her IPad. The room was good and the balcony had amazing views of the lake and remarkables mountains. Being on the second floor we didn't really have much privacy and had to keep the shades closed most of the time int he hotel room. This hotel definitely gets Queenstown and was a great stay. 10/10

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed four nights in this well located hotel. The architecture is one that incorporates two wings with one in the front and a second that is 'stepped' backwards up the hill. This means that you really want to book a room in the front part of the hotel - ideally from the 3rd floor upwards, or the top two or three floors of the back wing to get the most out of the spectacular view. We moved rooms from the 4th to the 5th floor in the front after one night so we could have two adjacent rooms and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, and were happy to accommodate our request. The rooms were reasonably spacious and the beds for us were very comfortable, with a choice of pillows. The zircon worked well. We were told that the hotel has replaced the beds so some issues reported by other reviewers may have been addressed - but of course no one beds suits, or will suit all. We ate in the restaurant on our arrival night and were very satisfied with our meals. The bar is small, but great with a two cosy sitting areas that include one with a wide bench and large cushions that allow you to curl up, and another smaller enclave.On the basis of staff friendliness and location, I would certainly recommend this hotel if you prefer to stay in hotels belonging to large hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first wing (directly facing street) on the 3rd, 4th and 5th floors are the best. For th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotel in the queens town.

Hotel have in house travel desk, good restaurant located on ground floor.

Always go for room on 04 or 05 th floor wharf facing. From balcony have beautiful view of road, casino in front of hotel, mini cruise parked right in front of hotel. nice view of mountain on one side and city on other side.

There is mini market located right next to hotel. near by there are numbers of shops where once can have garments, souvenirs, liquor shop, wine shop, coffee shop, burgers and fast food shop.

Room Tip: Always go for room on 04 or 05th floor ( wharf facing )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJ167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing