We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I booked 3 nights here on points and I am IHG platinum. I got upgraded to a lake facing room w/ balcony on the 2nd floor. The staff here was amazing. The concierge and the front desk made several phone calls on my behalf regarding tours and contacting the airport as my wife forgot her IPad. The room was good and the balcony had amazing views of the lake and remarkables mountains. Being on the second floor we didn't really have much privacy and had to keep the shades closed most of the time int he hotel room. This hotel definitely gets Queenstown and was a great stay. 10/10

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed four nights in this well located hotel. The architecture is one that incorporates two wings with one in the front and a second that is 'stepped' backwards up the hill. This means that you really want to book a room in the front part of the hotel - ideally from the 3rd floor upwards, or the top two or three floors of the back wing to get the most out of the spectacular view. We moved rooms from the 4th to the 5th floor in the front after one night so we could have two adjacent rooms and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, and were happy to accommodate our request. The rooms were reasonably spacious and the beds for us were very comfortable, with a choice of pillows. The zircon worked well. We were told that the hotel has replaced the beds so some issues reported by other reviewers may have been addressed - but of course no one beds suits, or will suit all. We ate in the restaurant on our arrival night and were very satisfied with our meals. The bar is small, but great with a two cosy sitting areas that include one with a wide bench and large cushions that allow you to curl up, and another smaller enclave.On the basis of staff friendliness and location, I would certainly recommend this hotel if you prefer to stay in hotels belonging to large hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first wing (directly facing street) on the 3rd, 4th and 5th floors are the best. For th...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotel in the queens town.

Hotel have in house travel desk, good restaurant located on ground floor.

Always go for room on 04 or 05 th floor wharf facing. From balcony have beautiful view of road, casino in front of hotel, mini cruise parked right in front of hotel. nice view of mountain on one side and city on other side.

There is mini market located right next to hotel. near by there are numbers of shops where once can have garments, souvenirs, liquor shop, wine shop, coffee shop, burgers and fast food shop.

Room Tip: Always go for room on 04 or 05th floor ( wharf facing )
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyJ167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is located very close to the lake front and a very easy walking distance to central business district. The room was large and comfortable but not over the top. All staff were very friendly and helpful and valet parking took away the worry of where to park the car. I recommend when booking, ask for either a lake view or mountain view. Otherwise, you may end up with a courtyard view. You don't always have to pay extra to get those views but under certain circumstances you may. We found the beds to be comfortable with plenty of extra pillows, no hassle of having to call room service for extra supplies / toiletries and the room was nicely heated considering the weather was below zero outside when we were there. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If possible request a lake or mountain view in the upper level
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Textbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Well located hotel next to the lake but has a road and row of buildings right in front of it so rooms on the first few floors have poor views. As this place is one of the most beautiful in the world you must get a room with a view. Many people on our tour complained. Rooms on the lower floors should cost much less. Get a top floor lake front room or don't use.

Room Tip: Get a top floor lake front room as far to the right side facing the lake as possible, or you will be...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jancrow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Jancrow4,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My partner and I recently visited Queenstown and were pleasantly surprised at the amazing location of the Crowne Plaza when we arrived. But after just one night of sleeping on their beds, the floor was looking like a much better option. They were the MOST uncomfortable mattresses we have ever attempted to sleep on in our lives was like sleeping on concrete (and for the amount you pay you think the beds would be a little bit comfy). Also when we checked in the receptionist offered us an option to pay $60 for breakfast every morning (we stayed 3 nights), a valet service for our car & wireless. $60 seemed like a reasonable price for parking and 3 mornings of breakfast so you could imagine our shock when we went to check out and instead of paying $60 it was $180. We were extremely disappointed that it had not been relayed properly to us that it was 60$ PER DAY- had that been the case we definitely wouldn't have agreed to this. As I say amazing location but we left disappointed at the lack of customer service we received at check out when we were obviously not told the correct information and were leaving unhappy. We will be finding another hotel to stay in on the next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtneyJeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear CourtneyJeane,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, but am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our beds.
I can assure you they are of the highest standard and were newly purchased in 2013.

With regards to the package you purchased I terribly am sorry if there was some confusion. This particular package includes, Breakfast (normally $56, internet (normally $29), parking (normally $15) so a total value of $100 per night for $59 I am sorry if this was not explained more clearly to you, but I understand that we were able to come to a mutually agreed solution on checkout.

I will be discussing your review with our Guest Experience Manager to ensure this does not happen again.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed for three nights during the Winter Festival. The highlight of our stay was the cheerful and helpful staff. Our thanks to front desk staff Maria, Michelle, Olivia, Conor, Stephen and Ra. Our thanks also to David for the best hot chocolate drinks we've had in years. Our only complaint is that our bathroom toilet seemed to have been made for a small child. I'ts difficult, particularly as you get older, to sit down on a low toilet.

Room Tip: Go for a front room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HACKER69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $149 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing