We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Crowne Plaza Queenstown could not be more centrally located, across the street from the heart of Queenstown. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable. The staff was outstanding. When Juanita realized she had left her purse on the Great Sights tour bus, Connah went out of her way to contact Great Sights and track down our driver. The purse was returned in a matter of minutes. Thanks Connah!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TedinPensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Crowne Plaza is in a great location that has all you need. Very clean, the rooms are slightly dates but the view is so gorgeous your not even looking at the room. Walk out of the hotel and you are in walking distance for all restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall-Emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Kendall-Emily,

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear you found our rooms clean and you enjoyed the views.

Also good to hear you found our location convenient.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had not booked breakfast for our 4 mornings as we were going to try the local cafés, however, added cost for valet parking and internet access had breakfast included so that's what we did. Breakfast started at 0600 hrs.... Our first morning was an early pickup for a day tour from the hotel at 0635 hrs. It snowed in the city this morning! No chef and delayed buffet set up. All this was accepted by those of us guests who were there as we understood one is not in control if the weather! HOWEVER, this continued for the next 3 mornings! Time management and professional behaviour was not on show for these 4 mornings.
The room, bed and view were ALL exceptional experiences.
The hotel is close to all amenities. And Crown Plaza capitalises on this big time.

Room Tip: For a Fantastic view room 406.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Anne C,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am delighted to hear that you found our rooms and bed commendable, and that our location worked for your needs. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear about the unsatisfactory level of service you have received on your breakfast experience. I have taken note of you comments and we will work diligently on training to ensure the quality of guest services.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

There is not a hotel in Queenstown which is so close to town, on the flat, has such great views, and is affordable. No, it's not five star, and yes, the common areas need some updating (but are still in good condition, just not super modern) but the breakfasts are amazing, the views spectacular and you get the same very good service every single time. In my opinion, whilst it's not as swanky as St Moritz, Sofitel or Eichardts, it has a better view and price.

Room Tip: 7th floor is the top, but you have to use stairs from 6 to 7.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeneye11111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Jeneye11111111111,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am pleased you had an enkoyable experience with us and enjoyed the views, breakfast and our service.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is right down town in Queenstown and we stayed their courtesy of Prioirty pass points. From the outside the hotel does look a bit dated but the rooms are fine but a little on the small side - we did have a balcony but as it was winter we didn't use it. The staff were helpful but not exceptional - overall a good quality clean hotel as you would expect from Crowne Plaza chain. The location is good for walking around Queenstown. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enj0yTravelN0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great hotel is you are looking for value for money, comfortable rooms, close to the city action and everything that you need in a hotel.

Walking into the main central part is only a few minutes away, so nice and close.

We didnt have breakfast or eat within the hotel so cannot comment on this area.

Room Tip: We booked a courtyard room which was comfortable as we didnt need views of the lake as preferred to...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Kimbo08,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

Great to hear you enjoyed our Courtyard rooms and found them comfortable.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

After 2 weeks of staying near mountains, at motels and holiday parks, I was so glad we picked Crowne Plaza to end our trip in Queenstown.
The beds and pillows were so luxuriously comfortable, my family of 4 had very good sleep for 2 nights. We woke up refreshed and chirpy.
The location was great too, just mins walk away from the city centre. There is a playground just behind the hotel, perfect for my 2 girls to play their heart out. I would go back again to stay there in my next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purrlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $149 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing