We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed her two different nights, separated by a trip to to Milford Sound and Te Anau. The location is great and within easy walking of downtown places. We didn't choose a lake view as we wouldn't have really appreciated it given the hours we were there. The laundry facilities on the 5th floor were fine. The room was nice, clean, and quiet. The front desk was helpful answering questions about things and booking a restaurant reservation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    553
    113
    32
    17
See reviews for
267
732
76
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

we booked this hotel it was expensive, for new zeland, but thought 4star crown plaza has to be good, the rooms were ok, the bathroom was terrible needs refurbishing very old and dropping to bits,there was trays of food outside lots of the rooms, most of one day, not nice,the best thing about this hotel is the location, it's central, the other thing to be aware of is they charge you 7.00 English pounds a day to park your car in hotel car park. Good points the breakfast is very nice. I loved queenstown it was amazing and we'll worth a vist, but I woudent stop at this hotel next time we vist.

Room Tip: Have a sea view but very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashton40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Ashton40,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
I am terribly sorry that you felt our bathroom is not up to scratch, as part of our continuous improvement program I will make sure this room is taken out of service and the bathroom checked.

Should you wish to elaborate please feel free to contact me direct on reinier.eulink@ihg.com.

I will be discussing the room service trays with our Guest Experience Manager and ensure this will not happen again. We do indeed offer valet parking but guests are welcome to park on the road free of charge. Thank you for your compliments with regards to our breakfast, we pride ourselves on our extensive choice that caters to all.

It is nice to hear you had an amazing time in Queenstown.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The location of this hotel in superb with awesome views of the lake and mountains. The breakfast was excellent with omelette coking station and wide selection of everything you would ever need for breakfast.The hotel is across the road from the lake and the wharf and very accessible for the shops etc. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.We had a side room overlooking the trees but the Lake view rooms are the ones to stay in.Overall very good stay in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view room when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at the hotel in my last trip to queenstown for 4 days and i enjoyed my stay, the hotel location is very good, food was excellent and rooms and toilet were very clean. Recommended for everybody

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay Aust
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My Son and I stayed here for one week in Autumn (fall). The hotel is located right in the centre of Queenstown but still has beautiful lake views. The staff were always very friendly and courteous and always happy to help. The concierge had a very extensive knowledge of the area and great advice. Clean rooms. The gym was small but had a very good multifunction machine that did almost everything, far better than a lot of other gyms in the IHG group. The only complaints I have is that there was no cutlery in the room for when we got take away and the heating in the room was just a little cooler than I would have liked. But they are very tiny complaints and the overall stay was great.

Room Tip: some lake 'view' rooms have a view from the balcony if you go and stand out side. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelaney27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear littlelaney27,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and was able to use our gym.
Unfortunately we don't have cutlery in our rooms as standard but Room service is always able to deliver this within a few minutes.
I have passed your comments with regards to the inroom temperature to our Chief Engineer for him to monitor.
I am pleased you had a great stay.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza over Easter and were thoroughly pleased with the hotel.
The view from our lake side room was excellent and one could just sit and look at all that was happening on the lake.
The rooms were adequate and very clean and well presented.
The hotel is on the edge of the town and all restaurants and pubs are in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
361 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed two nights in a lake front room on the fourth floor. View from the room was great and just across the road from steamer wharf and restaurants. Room was very comfy with usual Crowne standard of amenities. Room has a balcony but a little chilly to sit outside. We ate in hotel restaurant one night and enjoyed the lamb rump. Buffet breakfast was good priced at $28 per head. Staff very friendly and valet parking service was very efficient. Only complaint was that kettle would not fit under sink tap and had to be filled one glass at a time.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am pleased you enjoyed our location and our facilities.
Great to hear you found our staff friendly and efficient.

I will be sharing your comments with the team.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing