We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice room, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
hong kong
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great location. Nice room, great service.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The reservations dept was very helpful and friendly as were all the staff. I phoned to make sure we would not have any surprises and we did not. We were not able to get a view of the lake but we were not guaranteed that: our rooms were booked as courtyard and it was ok, we spent very little time in the room anyhow and right outside the hotel is: the lake!

There are lovely little cafes all along the lake and you cannot lose if you want to sit outside and enjoy (hopefully) the sunshine and view. Everyone is friendly here and CLEAN. I doubt there is anyplace on the planet more spic and span than Queenstown.

The hotel rooms are large and my carpet was brand new. There is a hot water kettle and coffee/tea, minibar fully stocked and a compliment of toiletry items.

You really can't go wrong here. We booked a trip to Milford Sound from the very helpful young gentleman at the concierge/travel desk (Tim). They pick you up at the hotel and charge everything to your room.

The reception staff was ultra friendly and efficient. I had read there were dirty tired rooms here but I found it the opposite. Really great stay, would come here again for sure.!!! Thanks.

Room Tip: Try and get on the 6th or 7th floor for a good view and pay for it if you have to: its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twodoggzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    563
    115
    33
    18
See reviews for
275
749
77
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is not the Crowne Plaza I stayed in in Liang, China. The interior is like a dated Scandinavian hotel. Rooms are average. Hallways are dark and carpet appears to be very stained. Nice that rooms are positioned so you can have a small balcony which gives you a view of the lake and the Remarkables. We did not experience any street noise which is good since hotel is on the main street and at a corner. Location makes it easy to walk to city center and also to walk along the lake, away from the city center. Had one meal with a group which was served buffet style and was acceptable. I found it interesting that the wine selection did not feature the wonderful NZ wines which are produced nearby. Buffet breakfast is well done. Barman fixed an exceptional gin&tonic, giving us the choice of glass and amount of ice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Sharon O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It is disappointing to hear that your experience in Queenstown did not match up to our hotel in China. I had a look online myself and it looks indeed like a wonderful property.
I will be sharing your comments with our Guest Experience Manager and take your comments on board for when we next update our winelist. It is great to hear you enjoyed your gin and tonic.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Literally downtown and across the street from many attractions, bars and restaurants, this has to be a great location. OK, the building is getting older than some, but upkeep is pretty good, although hallway carpets looking a bit tired.
Room facilities and amenities are good, and cleanliness/housekeeping of a good standard.
All staff were very positive, helpful and friendly.
We chose to pay extra for lake view room, and were allocated a 7th floor room which is actually at the rear of the property, although it does have good views, and the bonus of being very quiet away from the busy road at the front. Note if you are on 7th floor, lift only goes to 6th, so one flight of stairs to be negotiated.

Room Tip: Lake view a bonus. 7th floor rooms are at rear, have a view, plus are quiet although you do need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Great location in centre of town with super lake views from most rooms. Very friendly and helpful reception and quick parking valet service. Our room was modern and bright and nicely decorated. So why not 5 stars?
We found some faults with the cleanliness of the place. Firstly my wife found what looked like semen stains on the inside of the furry bed throw. Not a lot, but enough. Then outside and just above our room door there was a small spiders nest with lots of small spiders. And finally stuffed into a gap on the balcony there were 3 or 4 cigarette ends left from previous occupants. When all this was pointed out there were profuse apologies, and things were rectified quickly and excuses were made about falling in the gap between room service and maintenance. Actually I don't care. It points to poor supervision. The hotel should not have to rely on customers to point out these issues. But we would stay again

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
314 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel delivered on everything one wants. The concierge was just so so so helpful from start to finish with suggestions and bookings. The room was great and the lake view was stunning. It was just a great way to cap off an engagement weekend. Def will be back. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Def try room 503. What a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for a 3 night stay recently that was very enjoyable as the hotel is very well located close to everything. The view from our room of the mountains was beautiful. The bed room was very clean & comfortable. Staff & service wax great. Good breakfast. We especially liked that the hotel is within walking distance of everything. Would be happy to recommend this hotel to family & friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WestAusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear WestAusTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and found our location convenient and staff friendly.

Thank you again, I will be sharing your comments with our team.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

IHG Rewards membership helps you get a good room with a balcony and lake view. This is a stunning location and a very good hotel with great staff. The sixth floor corridor carpet is a little tired but everything in the room was what you would expect from the Crowne Plaza brand. The balconies are side on to the lake on this floor, which is fine. The restaurant is good, but do try a Fergburger while you're in town - they are legendary and arguably the best burgers in the world.

Room Tip: best views on the 5th and 6th floors (6 is the top floor). Take the cable car up to the mountain top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing