We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location with great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is located in a perfect location. Restaurants, attractions and the river front are all located around the hotel. The hotel concierge has good people who helped me plan with the attractions on my leisure day. Room service was good and the morning breakfast was excellent. I would go back to this hotel if I visit Queenstown in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    556
    114
    32
    17
See reviews for
268
738
76
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in December 2013. The hotel is very centrally located. Our room was large, light and airy, and looked to have been renovated fairly recently (except the bathroom - I personally dislike showers over bathtubs and would prefer a walk-in power shower). Our room had a balcony. Staff were courteous and helpful. We did not use the restaurant. Like most chain hotels, it does not exude personality, but it is clean and modern (except the bathtub) and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was the last hotel I stayed at on my 12 day trip and was the hands down best of the lot. The location is fantastic, when I was first walking there it felt a little far, but once I got my bearings it felt quite close. Better yet, the water and pier are right outside the hotel, and it's just far enough away from the city center that it's quiet. We lucked out and there was a market right on the pier the last morning we were there.

We lucked out and that our room had a side view of the water (needed to be near the balcony). The linen was clean and fresh, there was space for 2 suitcases, personal lights over each bed with switches near the bed, and overall the comfiest beds of the trip. I can't speak to the service since I didn't really interact with the front desk much outside of check in, but I will say, that the light above my bed was burnt out and when I called, they immediately replaced it the next day as they promised (they actually offered to do it that night, but it was late and I wanted to sleep).

Loved this hotel, would definitely stay here again. And there's a great Italian place across the street too that's quaint and cozy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear cegar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and was able to enjoy downtown Queenstown but yet had some quiet time while at the hotel.

I am glad our staff responded well to your request and that you were able to have a comfortable sleep.
Thank you for your kind words, I will be sharing them with the team.


Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nothing fancy, but well located. Friendly young staff, good breakfast. Great city to visit for adventure. Very close to restaurants, harbor walk and retail stores. Don't miss going to Walter Peak Station on the steam boat while you are here.

Room Tip: Definitely want harbor side. This may be all that they have. Hotel is tiered and looks like all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldandiknowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear oldandiknowit,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am pleased you took advantage of our great location and found our staff helpful and enjoyed a good breakfast while staying with us.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Friendly staff - tick
Full buffet breakfast - tick
Clean room - tick
Good room service- tick
Very well situated - tick
Child friendly - tick

All round good experience. Staff very helpful from front to back. No negatives.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osmosishol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear osmosishol,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
It is great to hear we ticked all your boxes and you found our staff very helpful.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location, fab lake views....especially when getting out of the lift on 6th floor!
Staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was excellent, great choice and set us up for the day.
Room spacious and clean - 2 x queen beds.
We had family focus package which included gondola ride and 5 x luge rides which was great fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgbkgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear jgbkgb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am pleased you found our breakfast excellent, we aim to provide as much choice as possible to suit all our guests. Further it is great to hear you made the most of our family focus package, the Luge indeed is great fun for everyone.

Thank you again,

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Good location. Dirty hallways. Receptionists not very helpful. Very notes for the TV was broken receptionist said someone will come and fix it in five minutes 30 minutes later I had to go downstairs. The manager was helpful but the receptionist was not. This is a two star hotel that needs to be updated

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikey-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Ikey-40,

Thank you for your review.
It is disappointing to read that you found our staff unhelpful during your stay, I will be taking this up with the department manager today and ensure this does not happen again. We have a great team at the hotel who deliver great service on a daily basis as you will read in most reviews.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing