We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Duper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super Duper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

It is One of the best located hotels in Queenstown. Across the street is the lake with “The Remarkables” range of Mountains directly in front. The Real Journeys booking office is right in front of the hotel’s entrance where you can book your tour of “Milford Sound”; and you have the Ice Bar, the Sky city Casino, the main Shotover street, shops, restaurants, several bars, the beach front walk where the TSS Earnslaw ship built in 1912, is berthed, all within your neighbourhood. There are lots of rooms facing the lake front, but not all. I stayed there twice and the first time I had a lake facing room with a balcony, Room 108. The second time they gave me a room #429 but could not see the lake. The hotel was full. The rooms are sufficiently big, as well as the balconies. The bathroom area is just enough, not large nor small, and has no bath cubicle, only a tub. Bath robes and slippers are provided, with all other good quality amenities too. Complimentary Tea/Coffee and Kettle is provided in all rooms. The Breakfast room is with a lake view at lobby level, with a beautiful sumptuous breakfast too, and there’s no extra charge for the cappuccinos like some other hotels do. There’s a bar area too with a comfortable lounge and some gas fires going to keep you warm. Internet is free for the first 45 minutes too. Though the reception area is not very large, the staffs are very helpful and kind. If you have forgotten to pack your umbrella the hotel provides you one in case of rain. I’d say my first choice would be this hotel, though there are other good hotels in Queenstown too.

Room Tip: take the higher room facing the lake and the Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Poruse,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am very pleased you enjoyed our facilities and excellent location.

I will be sharing your lovely comments with the team.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    556
    114
    32
    17
See reviews for
268
738
76
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Nice and close to the CBD so makes going out for shopping, drinks, dinner etc a breeze. Friendly staff, great breakfast Buffet with very nice view from the restaurant.
Free WiFi is almost a must these days and this is the only downside I would mention.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazzy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear gazzy2000,

Thank you for your review and lovely comments about our staff and I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast.
We offer 45 minutes or 1GB of complimentary internet per device per day to all guests and if you join IHG Rewards Club you receive complimentary internet, this can be done online or at any of our hotels.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goondiwindi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here in October 2013. Excellent service and could not fault a single staff member. Magnificent views from level 7, highly recommended. Great location with the main part of Queenstown right out the front door. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. Great little casino across the road with a wonderful restaurant. Would definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 7 have a magnificent view. Great location to the heart of Queenstown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestogo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear lovestogo001,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am very pleased you enjoyed our facilities and excellent location.

I will be sharing your great comments with the team.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

First of all, you seriously cannot get any better for location than the Crowne Plaza. It is just off the main streets and shops of Queenstown. Super convenient!

The hotel itself is a bit dated, with the carpets especially being rather run down but everything is clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful enough.

But it was SO frustrating that in this day and age that a hotel can't even provide wireless internet inclusive of the room fee. Drives me bonkers. You only get 45 minutes of complimentary wifi and all of it has to be used in one go. So if you check something online in the morning, that's it. You've used your 45 minutes for the day. And then it's another $30 PER DAY to get access. Are you kidding me? We stayed in 5 other hotels during our time in New Zealand, and every. single. hotel. had complimentary wifi access except the Crowne Plaza, which also happened to be the most expensive hotel we stayed at the entire trip. It's just downright silly. Obviously we weren't in Queenstown to use wifi all the time, but the internet is the best way to make bookings sometimes, check in to flights, make international phone calls, check the weather forecast, and a plethora of other things that makes wireless access important. It was my fault that I didn't diligently check to make sure it was available here before booking, but still, at this point I expect it to be a standard thing at any decent hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank redstarburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear redstarburst,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed our location during your visit and that you found our staff helpful.

The 45 minutes free wifi or 1GB is a popular choice for most guests, I am sorry this was not sufficient for you. We do offer complimentary internet for our IHG Rewards Club members which is one of the many benefits of our loyalty program. The program is free to join at any time online or at any of our hotels.

Once again thank you for your comments they have been noted and utilized for our quality and continuous improvements program.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

A great location, at one corner of the Queenstown village. The view of the across Lake Wakatipu to The Remarkables and Coronet Peak is magic - any time of the year. The hotel is a stalwart of Queenstown, it's current incarnation - Crowne Plaza is bright and modern. The rooms are well appointed; the F&B standard hotel fare. There are many great food and wine experiences available in and around the village there is no need to eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is cut into the side of a hill so ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Jane M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

Great to hear you enjoyed the fantastic views and you found our rooms well appointed and modern. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Once again thank you for your kind words.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel with the best location in town. You come out of hotel and can straightaway walk to waterfront area ( one of major attractions- Jetboating, Million Dollar Cruise).
15 minutes walking distance from Skyline (another attraction- Cable car ride).
20 mins drive from Airports. Indian restaurant starts from walking distance time-2 mins ( 3 Indian restaurants within 2 Kms). -5 degree Ice bar 1 min walking distance.
5 mins walking distance from Starbucks. So I would say, overall a great great location.

Rooms, very good, bed comfortable, staff very friendly ( I have become a big fan of New Zealanders, such warm and friendly people).

The only improvements I can suggest are breakfast menu can be better and f they can have a warm water Swimming pool.

Also a tip to Indians- Get a "Multi Option Travel adapter" before going to NZ. Your plugs won't work even in NZ adapters except Apple products.

Room Tip: Waterfront view, 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anshulj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear anshulj81,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.
Great to hear you enjoyed our in town location and found our rooms comfortable.
Our breakfast buffet has a wide range that caters to most however I would welcome any recommendations by yourself, please email me on reinier.eulink@ihg.com if you wish.

We do offer travel adapters at reception for all guests.

Once again thank you.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is located across the street from the excursion steamer that travels the lake and is adjacent to the downtown shopping area. The hotel is sparkling clean with modern decor throughout. A guest laundry is available on the 5th floor. The internet is a bit pricey but if you are on holiday you shouldn't need it much. If you are on business put the internet charges on you expenses.

Room Tip: Up high facing beach street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear gdbutch,
Thank you for your complimentary review of our lovely hotel.
I am pleased you found the hotel sparkling clean and I will be sure to share these comments with our housekeeping team.
Our Internet is free for 45mins or 1GB per device per day or if you join our loyalty program you receive free internet.
Once again thank you for your kind words.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing