We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Falls Church
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well run and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Queenstown for two nights. Although we didn't have rooms overlooking the beautiful lake, I would request that if I were going again. The hotel was extremely well maintained and the staff were wonderful. The hotel is better than expected and very convenient to everything. The restaurant was quite nice too. They even had laundry facilities on our floor!

Room Tip: Lake View Definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and received warm and enthusiastic service from our team. The lake view rooms are spectacular and I hope you will get another opportunity to come back and experience it.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Queenstown.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    553
    113
    32
    17
See reviews for
267
732
76
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is a nice, modern hotel located close to the lake shore. Our room was comfortable and well equipped, although we didn't have much of a view of the lake. They have free valet parking, you just pay the $15 car park charge and a good concierge service for booking excursions.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Queenstown and leaving your positive feedback. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and made the most of the valet parking and concierge service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Queenstown.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Plaza in December 2010 for 5 nights during Christmas.

Our King room with lake views was spacious, clean and tidy. Located on the upper levels of the hotel this room offered fantastic views of the Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range as well as a private balcony.

The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of Queenstown near the Lake, Restaurants, bars & cafes. You can easily walk everywhere in town.

Breakfast was not included in the room rate but there are plenty of cafes and restaurants to choose from nearby.

We used the valet parking at the hotel which was very convenient.

Although the hotel is a little dated and rooms need an upgrade, the location and the views make up for it. I would recommend staying at this hotel if you would like to enjoy amazing views from your own private balcony without expending a fortune.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors with direct lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is not "in the centre" of town as has been commented previously but probably located even better as it is on the western edge of the town centre with the convenience of just a few minutes walk to everywhere without too much noise.

We had a room on the 5th floor with a balcony and the view, not only from the balcony but also from the bed, was just fabulous - overlooking the 'beach', lake and mountains.

The room size was reasonably large, attractively decorated and well laid out with a very comfortable king-size bed. On the downside, the bathroom was too small with the shower in the bath and a plastic shower curtain. The air-con. was not very good although there was unusually hot weather. Breakfast was adequate but not great.

As commented by others, the attitude of the staff and their friendly and helpful manner was very evident and appreciated - esp. Shree in reception for us.

We would have little hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for leaving your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location and made the most of the breath-taking views from your room. It’s great to read that you had a restful sleep in our king bed however, I am sorry that you had issues with the air-conditioning. We take all feedback seriously and we will discuss your comments internally with the team.

It’s pleasing to hear the team were warm and enthusiastic during your stay as we have a strong service culture at Crowne Plaza Queenstown. I enjoyed sharing your feedback with the team and Sheree who really appreciated the kind sentiment.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would highly recommend the Crowne Plaza Queenstown. The location is fantastic: overlooking the lake and opposite the real journeys tourist office and right in the centre of town. The rooms were really comfortable with excellent amenities. The staff were particularly FANTASTIC. From the moment we arrived, jet lagged, they went out of their way to get a room ready for us, despite a slightly early check in. They helped us with our luggage. They gave us excellent advice for tours both in Queenstown itself and elsewhere in New Zealand. They even gave us a complimentary room upgrade because we were on honeymoon, and a little honeymoon gift. When we were checking out, the manager on duty himself helped us carry our luggage out to the taxi. I would like to personally thank all of the staff at the Crowne Plaza Queenstown for such excellent service. We also stayed at the Novotel Queenstown for one night (because the Crowne Plaza was fully booked that night) and we were disappointed with the service there. If you’re looking for comfort, location and service in Queestown, the Crowne Plaza is where it’s at!

Room Tip: Worth getting a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sconry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback for the trip advisor community. I am thrilled with your positive review and I enjoyed sharing it with all the team here at Crowne Plaza Queenstown. It’s great to hear we provided a great base for your honeymoon and I am pleased that you enjoyed your room upgrade and gift. The concierge team do a great job helping with activities and tours and it sounds like you had a great time in Queenstown and New Zealand with the help of their expert advice.

Congratulations on your wedding and we hope that you will come back to Queenstown again one day as we would love to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Crown have set a certain standard in all their hotels worldwide and this one lives up to it. Comfy rooms and very comfy beds and the staff are very experienced and willing to help where they can. Right in the heart of town across from the lake and mountain views you have access to all that queenstown has to offer. Great facilities to book all the activities at the concierge desk. Parking was $15 per night but they did offer a valet service which made up for the cost.

Room Tip: Try to get up high as you would be away from the noise from street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulR74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on trip advisor. I am pleased that you continue to have successful stays at Crowne Plaza Hotels and Resorts and that we have lived up to these high standards during your time in Queenstown. I enjoyed sharing your positive feedback with the staff who appreciate your comments on the level of experience and enthusiasm that they bring to ensure you have a great stay.

We would love to welcome you back again next time you come back to Queenstown to enjoy the majestic views.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel as it provided us with all we needed. The location is second to none & it's a bonus if you are able to secure a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Very comfortable beds with different grades of pillows and thick, fluffy bath towels that you don't come across very often in hotels. All the staff were friendly but a special thanks to Steve on the concierge desk for his help and advice in organising outings & tickets. Being able to walk to the CBD in less than 2 mins was great. A very clean, well-run property that I thought was good value. Would certainly stay here again on any future trips to QT.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flametrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing