We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night only but was very impressed. Service by Bell Boy, Reception Staff and Restsurant staff was amazing, some of the best service I've received in years. The food in the restaurant was great (have the beef!!). Only one small niggle; the loo seat in my room didn't seem to attached properly or something, and made crazy creaky noises every time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ReenieSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback for the trip advisor community. We are pleased that our staff provided exceptional service and exceeded your expectations. I will share your comments with the team who will really appreciate your kind words.

We would like to have the opportunity to fix the issue with the toilet seat so could you please email me on reinier.eulink@ihg.com and let me know what room you stayed in – that would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks again for the great feedback and we would love to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Queenstown.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    571
    117
    34
    18
See reviews for
279
755
80
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for a week, rooms are very comfortable, included breakfast is awesome, staff are great, location is perfect. Only downside is the very slow and stingy 20mins free wireless internet, needs to be more. Overall, great hotel would definitely recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for a week and we had a great time. I would definitely return to Crowne Plaza again and recommend it to friends. The front of house staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel bar very accommodating. The buffet breakfast is fantastic, although if you are in Queenstown there are plenty of places to eat. Pick ups to all the local attractions. If you miss the initial room service, make sure you ring to organise the room to be made up. Our room was missed on a few lazy mornings. The amenities were great, good pressure in the shower. The room did seem to be constantly warm though, even with the air con turned on. We were happy to have the sliding door to the balcony open, but this was the only down fall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in August 2012. As we approached the hotel from Queenstown airport, I was struck by the stunning views from the hotel, being right by the lake with views over the Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu. First impressions of the hotel were that service distinction is taken very seriously and you'll certainly find Kiwi hospitality at its best here.

Highlights for me were - views from the hotel (despite being in a "courtyard view" room), service and breakfast.

If I were hard pushed to find negatives - I'd say the hotel's carpets and corridors are due an upgrade. Internet at the hotel is also painfully slow yet expensive, so very bad value in my view - though this seemed to be a problem right across New Zealand.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback for the trip advisor community. We are thrilled that you were blown away by the spectacular scenery that Queenstown offers and the great views from the hotel. We have a strong service culture at the hotel and I am pleased that this created a lasting impression on you. Your feedback regarding the corridors and internet is duly noted and will be taken into consideration going forward.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Queenstown.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is the 2nd time I have stayed with crowne plaza queenstown and they proved that the efficient and friendly check in and service they displayed was no fluke! Love the 1 min check in and check out and the concierge had really good recommendations on restaurants and free things to do. The late check out was very appreciated as we had a late flight. We will definately be back

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 6784_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Crowne Plaza was our conference destination, the hotel is very accommodating for a large group and staff are really welcoming, conference meals were great and breakfast was good, maybe vary it up a bit as we were staying for 4 days and no changes. I was on level 6 and the view was fabulous would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: higher level better view as for lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank o12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Really nice rooms and service, with a really good breakfast.
Bit disappointed with the view as it was somewhat obstructed of the ranges.
Really good location close walking distance to town centre and resteraunts.
A bit overpriced tho imo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Queenstown and leaving your feedback on trip advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms, great service and excellent location. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the views and we would be interested in speaking with you further to established what room type you stayed in. It would be greatly appreciated if you could email me on reinier.eulink@ihg.com so I can look into this further.

Thanks again for leaving your feedback and we would love to welcome you back to the hotel again one day.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing