We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in the most beautiful city in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Great location, facing the Wakatipu Lake and a few steps from lots of bars, restaurants, shops and attractions. Very friendly staff. Hotel has got a wonderful restaurant also with views of the lake. The perfect place to be in New Zealand´s most beautiful city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mthereza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

Amazing location so close to all the nightlife and water taxi. Rooms were comfortable with balconies and lake views.

Only downside was incredibly slow room service over an hour to get a toasted sandwich

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and leaving your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the majestic views over Lake Wakatipu from your room balcony. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the hotel location and our proximity to Queenstown’s town centre.

Please accept our apologies for the speed of our room service. This is definitely not up to our usual standard and we will discuss your comments internally with the team to address this.

We trust you had a great time in Queenstown. We would love to welcome you back on your next trip down south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Crowne Plaza is situated in a top spot, right on the river & within walking distance of everything. There are a couple nice cruisy bars nearby which stay open late (we were there until about 2am on a Monday night). The room was spacious, appealing and clean & the bed super comfortable! Unfortunately we had a room which although faced the river didn't have a view of anything which we weren't expecting - we weren't too fussed as we got a lastminute deal, but perhaps just inquire about that when booking.. The front desk staff were great, & even threw in free parking for us. I found the restaurant staff in the morning really rude - however the breakfast buffet was great! I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B3ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Queenstown and providing your feedback on your recent stay. It sounds like you had a good time in Queenstown and the hotel provided a good base for your trip and a comfortable night’s sleep. We are pleased that that our front desk team provided a great service for you but we are disappointed to read that our restaurant team let you down. Please accept our apologies for this and we will address your comments with the team internally to make sure this doesn’t happen again. We trust it did not impact on your overall experience greatly and we are pleased you would choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel over looks the lake and is in walking distance to downtown. Queenstown has an active downtown day and night so staying at this hotel is ideal. The staff is very accomodating and the rooms are clean. Bedding is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Based on other reviews of this property I was quite disappointed at my stay here this month. The staff were all fine and welcoming, but we were given a room on the 4th floor and that is where our problems began. It was clear as soon as the elevators opened that someone had had an 'accident' in the hallway, and despite the best efforts of the cleaning staff to mask the disgusting smell, the odour extended all the way to our room which was approx 30 metres away. When I mentioned this to the reception staff, they simply shrugged their shoulders and laughed it off. As I was paying full price and a member of their Priority Privilege Club (which they pressured me into joining), I am not keen to return to this hotel. I have since been sent two feedback forms which have been submitted but as yet I have not received a response. For my next stay in Queenstown I will be looking at either the Heritage or Novotel where I have always had a superb stay and always for a cheaper nightly rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiweka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Kiweka,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We did unfortunately have some issues with another group of guests as you have mentioned and I sincerely apologise as the response from our team wasn’t as it should be. We took this matter very seriously as did our team and we will be ensuring follow up actions regarding our response to you are made immediately. We did receive your online questionnaire but unfortunately we have been unable to respond as you haven’t selected the tick box option for us to do this. Privacy Law prevents us from using your details to contact you without approval. We would like to discuss this with you in person, my email address is gm@crowneplazaqueenstown.co.nz. We look forward to hearing from you directly.

Kind regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed two nights and it was the perfect place to stay, just a stones throw away from the waterfront bars and restaurants (but without being noisy). We asked for a mountain view room and were a little way back behind the front of the hotel but could still see the Remarkables.

As you'd expect with the Crowne Plaza the rooms were top notch and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I booked two hotels in New Zealand through a discount web site and this was definitely the pick of them. And both were within $10 pricewise.
Location : fantastic, just outside the Queenstown CBD, if you can call 3 blocks a CBD.
The staff were welcoming and really bent over backwards in everything. Like ringing up tour providers when I had questions for them.
Clean large rooms.
There is a laundry on site which is cheaper or the same price than the one in town, ( I only discovered this on my second visit there ).
I had a courtyard view so can't comment on the view over the lake, but as I was on a cheapie rate no complaints there.
The only con was that the bathroom did not have a clothesline where you could hang and dry wet clothes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13RD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $207 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing