We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Queenstown”
Review of Matakauri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matakauri Lodge
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This fabulous lodge on the outskirts of Queenstown is spectacular in every way. My family and friends loved every minute of our stay. We were well taken care of by the awesome staff. They arranged great excursions for us. The food was top notch and the best of all we had throughout the south island. The spa was perfect. Great options there helped to relieve the travel lag from the USA. The suite we stayed in was beautifully decorated as was the newly redecorated lodge. The views from matakauri lodge are some of the best around and we travelled this area quite extensively. In conclusion- Matakauri Lodge has the best of everything Queenstown has to offer. No need to go anywhere but the lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2010

Everything about the lodge is fabulous. The rooms have spectacular views and are so comfortable and huge. The staff sees to your every need and the food is outstanding. It is outside of town, however, so rent a car or spend a fortune in taxis. There are so many activities for people of all ages that it is the perfect destination wedding spot - which is why we were there. The prices are in line with its sister lodges, Kauri Cliffs and Cape Kidnappers

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheelcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This was my second visit to Queenstown and we wanted to stay where we could see amazing views of the lake, but be close enough to town to experience the fun it had to offer. We found it! Matakauri Lodge is owned by the same family as Kauri Cliffs and Cape Kidnappers, which we also enjoyed immensely on this visit, and they brought their top notch operation to the South Island. It just re-opened after they redesigned the lodge and WOW, the views are the best I’ve ever seen. Shimmering lake, snow-tipped mountains, blue sky…as far as the eye can see. There wasn’t another building in site, and I could see for miles up and down Lake Wakatipu.

Our room was enormous with floor to ceiling glass windows and a patio, a huge bathroom with views that would make you never want to get out of the tub (they are right up against the window), every high tech gadget you could imagine, and a thoughtfully placed dressing room with lots of space for the clothes you need to bring for - as they said “all 4 seasons in one day”.

We tried the chef’s tasting menu, which may have been my favorite meal ever. Our waiter offered to pair a glass of wine with each course, a fantastic touch.

The service was very personalized and nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. We got a chance to catch up with the owner before dinner for drinks each night, who was charming. Mostly we like that we could be very flexible and they ensured we got the most out of our experience in Queenstown, helping us with bookings for all the adventurous activities (and some not so adventurous). We’re both golfers and we had options to play at the two top courses in the area, Jack’s Point and the private golf course The Hills.

I’ll definitely return, as I love Queenstown and have now found the right place to stay….and if they’re good, we’ll bring the kids next time - they’ll love it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrEmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank MoniSchwabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Laetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Lauterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelGrosch, General Manager at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chloebear1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
7.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
4 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 59 in Queenstown
936 reviews
4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakauri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakauri Lodge

Address: Glenorchy Road | PO Box 888, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $1,090 - $2,552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Matakauri Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matakauri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matakauri Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing