We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth?”
Review of Matakauri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matakauri Lodge
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth?”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we knew that we made the right choice in selecting Matakauri for our short honeymoon getaway. We were overwhelmed by the friendliness and efficiency of the entire team throughout the stay. Amazing food, flawless service, matched with some of the best views in the world....... need I say more? Wait till you see the views from the bath!

Room Tip: We stayed in a outlaying deluxe suite, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear John M,

Warm greetings from Matakauri!

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing Matakauri for your honeymoon. Thank you as well for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Matakauri. We are pleased to hear your high praise of our staff as well as your enjoyment of the cuisine and those amazing vistas. The view from the bath is certainly a highlight.

We congratulate you again on your nuptials, and look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
152
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I've lived in Queenstown for a couple of years and have been spoilt for choice in terms of restaurants but there is something really special about the Matakauri lodge. I've been twice now, hosted by Stephen, who was friendly hospitable and even remembered me from my first visit. The food was first rate, the setting and atmosphere is spot on and the service is up there with the best I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huwmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Huwmiles,

Warm greetings from Matakauri!

Thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your visit to Matakauri. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the views and the atmosphere of the lodge, the amazing cuisine, and your interactions with our staff- particularly Stephen. We are aware there are several fantastic restaurants in the area and appreciate your high praise and on-going support.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri in the future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was looking for a special place to treat my wife for our wedding anniversary and could really look no further than Matakauri Lodge. Every aspect of our stay exceeded my expectation. From the moment of our arrival the team of Shaun, Stephen, Sarah and Laura took special interest in ensuring we absolutely relaxed and enjoyed the surroundings.
While my wife took a spa treatment I relaxed in our beautifully appointed room, soaking in the expanse of view. Seriously, such was the tranquility I fell into the deepest sleep I have had since becoming a father 14 years ago!
Our degustation dinner in the library was out of this world. The privacy, yet entertaining and informed visits from Steven describing the wine matches made for a very memorable evening.

I found all aspects of the lodge to be world class - the small and thoughtful details that quietly remind you of what makes it so special. The mood of the lodge never tried to compete with the stunning scenery before us, rather the team and the spaces complimented it perfectly.
We really never wanted to leave.
I find I have now set a very high bar for anniversaries! Oh well...

Thank you guys, we will definitely be back and sharing the word with our friends (raving actually!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manganarimoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Manganarimoment,

Warm greetings from Matakauri!

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments in regards to your visit to Matakauri. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the cuisine, the atmosphere throughout the lodge and your accommodation, and the amazing views. It is also wonderful to read that the view from your suite allowed you to capture the elusive deep sleep! We certainly strive to be the best, and when people such as yourself notice and appreciate the details, we know we are on the right path.

Thank you for choosing Matakauri for your special celebration, and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

By far the best place I've ever stayed. The service was out of this world with Stephen and Shaun offering such a personal service. The dining experience was exquisite; it really was the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Catherine M,

Warm greetings from Matakauri!

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Matakauri. We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cuisine and dining experience, and your interactions with our staff. We strive to be the best in what we do, and to be named the best place you have ever stayed is an amazing validation for us.

Thank you for choosing Matakauri and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If it wasn't for the price charged then this place would be amazing...however if you charge the amount they do and the little details don't happen then based on experience at staying at many other similar places around the world this place is overpriced for what they deliver.

The view from the spacious bedroom is stunning but you can get similar views at many places in Queenstown and surrounding areas...the little things that for the price charged they should have got right include:

- mixed service, from excellent to lame - Laurent and Shaun were very impressive and went out of their way to make our experience great, especially Laurent when he actually found us French cheeses as their selection of NZ ones is poor
- slowness on the orders for breakfast when my partner had told them she had to go heli-skiing and it took 20 minutes to prepare a simple oatmeal when there were no other guests being served, so slow that she had to leave her breakfast...
- constant reminders needed on parts of the meals e.g. like toast....
- the dinner itself was ok but not great which for the price they charged it should have been, The Rees in Queenstown offers real fine dining, this was trying to make it to that standard and failing
- the desserts were poor
- the fact that wine wasn't included, even some NZ wines was pretty cheap on their behalf - other similar places like Wolgan Valley in New South Wales for example include some lovely local wines within the package (and even they too are a luxury lodge, with more things to do, larger space, they charged less)
- lunch wasn't included - for the price it should have been as it was at Wolgan Valley
- no free transfers into Queenstown so $30+ taxi each way has to be paid

Overall some of the people tried hard and some were ditzy, the view is amazing but it's the little details mentioned abive that bring the rating down purely based on the price they are charging...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear ChrisJR2013,
Warm greetings from New Zealand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent experience at Matakauri Lodge.

It sounds like we wowed you in some areas but not in others, and that's simply not our style. Our entire team strives to provide the best possible experience to our guests, and it's always our goal for our guests to be well informed and well taken care of. I have appreciated that we have been able to be in direct contact now regarding your stay and as I already let you know, we welcome feedback to enable us to improve on our service.

On behalf of my entire team, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts on where we can tailor the experience to ensure each and every guest receives the hospitality that our group of lodges is known for.
I can assure you that your feedback has been taken seriously and presented to our team, and we are reviewing and addressing the points you have mentioned.

Lastly, I was pleased to learn that some members of our team showed you the spirit of hospitality we pride ourselves on, and will share your compliments with them.

Regards,

Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Matakauri Lodge was absolutely beautiful ... Exquisitely furnished, modern New Zealand style interiors with floor to ceiling windows and lovely spaces, marvellous villas, fantastic food, and the most breathtaking views imaginable.

We loved our time in Queenstown but the staff at Matakauri - Steven, Sarah, Laura, Lise, Seb, and more - made our stay exceptional. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceinmywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Iceinmywine,

Warm greetings from Matakauri!

Thank you for sharing comments about your recent stay at Matakauri. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation, the amazing cuisine, and the panoramic views. We are however most thrilled to hear your rave reviews in regards to our staff. We strive to be the best at what we do, and lovely personal mentions about members of our team ensure we are on the right track.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri, and thank you for your support.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been so busy I haven't had time since May to write this review. I have though, been continuously raving about this hotel to everyone I meet! This hotel remains my top favorite hotel in the world and is top notch world class in every way. When I actually miss a hotel and can’t stop talking about it, I consider that my top favorite.

No check in necessary, you are given your choice of welcome drink (they custom made an awesome fruit punch for us which I was addicted to) and gave us a quick tour of the property. The room/lodge was huge and had such nice décor, modern but rustic. The lodges are exactly the same as the photos on their website which is usually not the case with other hotels. Every detail in the room was perfect. We felt so spoilt, the luxurious details were endless. The most comfortable bed, automatic lights with the nicest smelling bathroom fragrance and amenities, the heated towels, organic teas, the extras went on and on. Our luggages were all set inside the walk-in closet when we arrived and they even had a tray to put my rings! Love how the tv is hidden behind a painting, but who needs TV when you have such an jaw dropping view in the living room AND the bathroom. We were kept busy posting the incredible views around every corner with their free wifi.

Food - I usually don’t like hotels with half or full boards as you are trapped in the hotel and food usually wasn’t that good. But this wasn’t the case, our breakfast was soooooo yummy, best pancakes ever and they cook whatever you like and best of all at any time, there’s no setting an alarm so you won’t miss yummy breakfast here! Even the canapés were all so tasty! Excellent food and wine. You can choose to dine anywhere inside or outside, we had a lovely private dinner in the library one night. Dinner portions were so generous and there were so many choices to choose from, the restaurant deserves 3 Michelin stars.

We had a few activities planned but the property was just so nice we ended up hiking down and walking around the beautiful lakeside from the hotel instead. We also had massages at the spa and the spa beds were to die for, it was soooo relaxing. Never got a chance to use the pool or Jacuzzi as it was bit chilly.

Service was top notch, everyone was super friendly and anticipated your every need. Emails/requests were quickly and efficiently attended to. When we were checking out they drove our car around and parked it outside and even filled our car with bottled water. I seriously wanted to cry when we had to leave! We will definitely come back very very soon!

Room Tip: Deluxe outlying suites!! Further out if you don't mind a bit more walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear amazingrice,

Thank you for your kind and detailed comments about your stay at Matakauri in May.

We are absolutely thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your accommodation, the scrumptious cuisine, and the beautiful surroundings. We also appreciate your noticing and sharing of the smaller details at Matakauri which shows our dedication to providing a service second to none. We truly strive to be the best, and reviews such as yours shows that we are on the right track.

To be ranked as your “favorite hotel to date” is extremely gratifying and your high praise means so much to all of us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri in the future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
7.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakauri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakauri Lodge

Property: Matakauri Lodge
Address: Glenorchy Road | PO Box 888, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matakauri Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Matakauri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matakauri Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing