We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matakauri Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$316
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$130
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$108
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$162
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azur(Queenstown)
$1,080
$830
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
248
14
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
14
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskauri cliffscape kidnapperssister propertiesdeluxe suitelake wakatipunew zealandthe private dining roomcourse degustationblanket baygreat food and winespa treatmentsbreakfast and dinnerhelicopter tripbreathtaking viewsour honeymoonhuge bathroomshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 267 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked the Lodge for the weekend to host our wedding this October 2012. We visited Matakauri Lodge the year before and were bowled over by the location and what the Lodge had to offer. Jay and Clare couldn't have been more helpful and we had constant support from Amy their Events Organiser throughout our planning phase including recommending local suppliers and organising a Marquee. We are based in Sydney, the local help was brilliant.
Our wedding was very special and the lodge staff made it happen on the day. Everyone at the lodge exceeded our expectations in terms of service and I know that are guests were also very satisfied with their stay.
The rooms and facilities at the Lodge are very homely and inviting; in each room there is a panoramic view of the lake and mountains.
Thank you so much Shaun, Callum and the team for support on the day and please pass on our thanks to the chef team for an exceptional two days including a wedding tasting menu that was superbly executed to all 60 guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SineadR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear SineadR79,

Warm regards from Matakauri Lodge! We could not be more thrilled to hear the kind words you shared. It was such a pleasure being part of the planning process and we are so thankful that you chose Matakauri Lodge for your special day. Our team enjoyed the time that you and your guests were here and we look forward to having you at Matakauri for many anniversaries to come!

Your Friends at Matakauri,
Jay & Claire Robertson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here during our honeymoon for two nights. The view is simply breathtaking and you can't get enough of it it. The food and wine are a close second.

There were two small issues - first, they had promised us an upgrade which didn't materialize. I wish we had been informed that the higher category rooms were selling out and we would have simply booked it ourselves instead of being told that the honeymoon package came with an ugprade that didn't happen.

Second, as a way of making up for the lack of upgrade, they promised private dinners on both of our nights there and the second dinner did not materialize. Not a big deal on either front but don't promise guests things that you cannot deliver on.

Lauren in concierge is superb and is Stephen who is in charge of food and wine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear KitchieKai,

Firstly, we are delighted that you chose Matakauri Lodge for your recent honeymoon and that you found the position, views and food to be world-class.

Also thank you for your feedback about the unavailable upgrade during your stay. We do our best to insure our honeymoon guests are upgraded to "the best available suite" but being a small Lodge of just eleven suites/rooms, it sometime just isn't possible to guarantee this. Your stay was one of those times, as Matakauri Lodge was fully occupied with guests. Please know that had a suite been available, we certainly would have honoured the upgrade, as we do all we can to ensure our guests have the best experience possible. We certainly take onboard your feedback and will endeavour to be more pro-active in this regard in the future with our honeymoon guests.

I do hope you will visit us again, and hope your honeymoon memories at Matakauri Lodge are happy ones. Thank you again for choosing to spend such a special time with us.

Very best regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Sure, there are lots of places to stay in Queenstown. If you are looking for a discreet luxury escape with spectacular views, look no further. The lodge is beautiful, the staff simply amazing and the food divine. We were able to relax while everything was taken care of for us at every moment. We even made some wonderful new friends. This place isn't for everyone and thats why we loved it! Thank you Matakauri Lodge... we will visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Matthew L
Thank you so much for your kind words and comments following your stay with us at Matakauri Lodge. It is fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed the property and all of the wonderful services on offer. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Matakauri Lodge is absolutely beautiful. Hidden away and with possibly the best views in queenstown, this hotel is discrete and tasteful. Nothing is too bigger ask from the charming young team of international staff. Peaceful and relaxing haven. Have a facial and a swim - heavenly!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarreeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear CarreeBee
Thank you so much for your wonderful review following your recent stay. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and we loved seeing your great photos of the Lodge!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Absolutely loved this place. We stayed for 3 nights in November. The rooms, the view, the food, the service - its all terrific. We agree with the previous reviews that Matakauri exceeded our expectations. The multi national staff are very professional and friendly. Callum, the manager, was a delight. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foolonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear foolonthehill
Thank you very much for posting your feedback following your recent stay at Matakauri Lodge. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your kind words about our team and Duty Manager, Callum.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri Lodge in the future.
Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews