We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Hidden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Lodge
Ranked #10 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Superb in every way from the stunning views to the sumptious rooms and the amazing hosts, Murray and Tish, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We did not want to leave and will definitely return. A real gem and somewhere we will never forget. Thank you Murray and Tish for allowing us to stay in your beautiful creation.

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge with a stunning room of the lake and mountains.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp_66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lettitia A, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Evergreen Lodge and for you kind comments. We really appreciate the reviews from everyone.
We are lucky here at Evergreen to have Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable mountains in full view. Take care and safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hidden Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 131 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

What more can one say. We had a 6.20am start on Christmas Day and Tish got up to cook breakfast and make sandwiches (in case we got hungry!). Murray and Tish are Hosts of the first order. Great restaurant recommendations, nothing is too much effort. Beautiful rooms. If you have never tried New Zealand Lodges do. If you can start at Evergreen Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDoriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lettitia A, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Evergreen Lodge. Early morning breakfasts are no problems when there are hikes or trips to the Sounds to be enjoyed. Take care and all the best for 2013...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first trip to New Zealand and we had already experienced several other lodges when we arrived at Evergreen. We had been thoroughly impressed at all the previous lodges as they had their own individual characters. But Evergreen raised the bar even higher from the moment Tish and Murray welcomed us into their magnificent home. The views from our bedroom and the lounge were simply spectacular. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their hospitality exuded a genuine warmth, which was unforgettable. Their restaurant recommendations "hit the spot" and the combination of Tish's wonderful breakfasts, coupled with Murray's advice for the adventures ahead was a great start to the day. If you are anywhere near Queenstown and looking for some unashamed luxury, Evergreen Lodge is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjamesesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenstownPercy, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Evergreen Lodge and for your kind comments


We would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for a safe and happy 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Words cannot begin to do justice to the most superb accommodation imaginable. Tish's breakfasts are perfection. Tish and Murray treat guests like royalty and could not have been more helpful, engaging, good humored or gracious. Bravo! The rare end lot location with the lake/ mountain view complements Tish and Murray's unsurpassed attention to every detail. We even got to launder our clothes while relaxing In our spacious room. Can you tell we loved everything about Evergreen Lodge?

Room Tip: Tahi is a fabulous, spacious, quiet room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenstownPercy, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thanks very much for your review of Evergreen Lodge. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand and safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was our first experience of Lodge accomodation and we have started at the top. Tish & Murray are consummate hosts and we felt really welcome in their fabulous house. Everything one could possibly require has been provided and the generosity of our hosts is boundless.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLoveKillinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lettitia A, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing to stay with us here at Evergreen Lodge.
May we take this chance to wish you both a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

From the minute I arrived, to the minute I left, Tish and Murray were the perfect hosts. I felt completely welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. Evergreen Lodge totally exceeded my expectations in so many ways. My room was fabulous. Large, with a perfect view. I was able to spot a beautiful sunrise in the making from the bed! I mentioned that Id like to do a helicopter trip, and Murray was onto it immediately, with follow up. Just fantastic service. The Lodge is far enough away from Queenstown to be perfectly quiet, but close enough to pop into town for any needed provisions. Tish is a marvelous cook, and I was totally spoilt from beginning to end. I would recommend Evergreen Lodge and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lettitia A, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Leanne C

Thank you very much for you kind comments. It was our pleasure to host you here at Evergreen Lodge and we throughly enjoyed your company. The helicopter excursion is always a highlight and we were thrilled it lived up to your expectation. Your photos will be a lasting memory of your stay. The lodge is a perfect location to capture the sunrise and sunsets with the reflection of light over the Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

To say that Evergreen Lodge exceeded our expectations is an understatement. Tish and Murray are wonderful hosts whose hospitality is second to none, and they have managed to present a property that is the ultimate luxury. After a hard day skiing we would emerge to find our ski boots and gloves drying by the lit fire, and a wonderful selection of wines available for us to indulge in whilst relaxing and soaking up the ambiance and the view. Tish's cooked breakfasts are amazing and nothing is too much trouble, even organizing a super early breakfast (before dawn) so that we could make our plane to Milford Sound. Unfortunately we booked out with activities on this trip so we did not get to spend as much time at the lodge as we would have liked, but we will definitely be returning to 'do it properly' and properly indulge in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Lodge

Address: 28 Evergreen Place | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Evergreen Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $286 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown's Hidden Lodge is a haven for guests looking to relax and enjoy the serenity on offer at this secluded location. On arrival guests are mesmerised by commanding views of The Remarkables and Cecil Peak mountains, Hidden Island and Lake Wakatipu. There are four spacious guest suites featuring super-king size beds. Each suite has its own bathroom. All guests can enjoy the wood-fired hot pool, gymnasium and sauna. The lounge area offers panoramic views while the sun-drenched outdoor courtyard is ideal for relaxation. The on-site Lodge Manager provides customised, fully-cooked breakfasts for guests. Guests enjoy canapes and drinks on arrival. The breakfast, canapes and drinks are complimentary, as are tea, coffee and soft drinks throughout the day. At this boutique, high quality accommodation Wi-Fi is free and there is ample off- street parking. Assistance is available for transfer information, restaurant suggestions, activity options and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing