We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Hidden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Lodge
Ranked #10 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
new york
1 review
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed February 4, 2008

I had the most wonderful 5 days at the Evergreen Lodge. Between scheduling sky diving, making dinner reservations, cooking breakfasts, and even driving me into town, Murray and Tish (the wonderful owners) go above and beyond all expectations. The views off the "public" and private balconies are absolutely stunning (check out the traveler photos), and the new patio they have built is a wonderfully peaceful place to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine. I will without question stay here next time I make it out to Queenstown
Adam (NY)

  • Liked — Great views, rooms and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adamny14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    3
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
88
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
newton
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Gracious living at its best. Wonderful hospitality--the owners were especially welcoming. Luxurious accomodations, excellent location. We recommend it highly. One of the nicest places we stayed in NZ.

M and N, Boston

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank leknarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Having spent three weeks Down Under over Christmas and New Years, it was unanimous from myself, wife and daughter that the Evergreen Lodge was the nicest setting, most personal, and warmest accommodations. The breakfast was amazing and was prepared by a professional chef. Tish and Murray went above and beyond to arrange day trips. My daughter and wife are both avid horse lovers and wanted to ride. Tish and Murray found a wonderful stable for them to enjoy that offered horses for the very beginner to more advanced for someone like us. The home baking sweets were absolutely mouthwatering. The rooms were wonderful and provided a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere after a full day of touring. We as a family highly recommend The Evergreen Lodge for anyone wishing to visit Queenstown. And will recommend it to any of our family and friends if they visit Queenstown.

  • Liked — The atmosphere!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 3TorontoMusketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

It was the excellent reviews given to Evergreen Lodge on Tripadvisor that convinced me to make a reservation for 4 nights. We have found in our travels that the words 'luxury' and 'boutique' are usually an exaggeration. Not in the case of Evergreen. We have stayed in some very upmarket hotels in Europe and the UK but Evergreen was up there with the very best - yet with all the charm of an intimate establishment. I can only reiterate other reviewers' comments on the beauty of the house and the magnificent views of the lake. The bedrooms are wonderfully spacious and the hospitality of Tish and Murray as hosts goes beyond merely 'doing the right thing by paying customers'. Yet they were never intrusive. This is a fine line to walk and Tish and Murray manage it perfectly. In all our travels this was the only place I can truly say was everything we had hoped for - and more.

  • Liked — Lived up to its reviews
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2007

My partner and I recently spent 2 nights at the Evergreen Lodge in Queenstown, during our 4 week tour of New Zealand and Australia. I have to say that it was not only the nicest place we stayed at during our entire journey (and we stayed at some incredible places), but it was also one of the top places we've stayed in over all our years of travelling. The rooms are incredible, the views amazing, the amenities outstanding, and the breakfasts delicious. The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating, knowing when to chat with us or to help us and when to leave us alone. In addition to breakfast, they provide wine in the evenings, a well-stocked refrigerator with complimentary beverages (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) in the room, and a well-stocked kitchen pantry (their philosophy is "if you can see it, you can eat it or drink it"). Our only regret was that we did not stay longer. This accommodation should be on the top of the list for anyone considering a trip to NZ.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank briddleinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon tour. The owners were extremely gracious and helpful. They assisted us with booking all of our tours and activites, and suggested vineyards and other towns to check out on a nice drive we took outside of Queenstown. Breakfasts were amazing. Tish is a wonderful cook!! The rooms were simple, comfortable, and very spacious. The views were amazing!! It is located just outside of the hectic town center of Queenstown, maybe a 4 minute drive. I would highly recommend The Evergreen Lodge to anyone visiting Queenstown.

  • Liked — Hosts, view and location.
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

Just outside the bustle of Queenstown in the most superb position with direct lakeside and mountain
views is Evergreen Lodge. The hosts vast experience
of the hospitality business is apparent throughout,
everything has been thought of to ensure your stay
is as perfect as possible - great breakfasts, lovely
'public' rooms with stunning views and permanent free
internet access, bathrooms and bedrooms with every
facility, a free laundry etc. The choice of things to
fill your time in and around Queenstown is endless
and they can all be booked for you by the hosts and, should you wish collection from the lodge and return back to the door!! A relaxing 5 star lodge and one I will happily return to on my next trip.

Helpful?
3 Thank shabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Azur
Azur
#16 of 58 in Queenstown
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Lodge

Property: Hidden Lodge
Address: 28 Evergreen Place | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Evergreen Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown's Hidden Lodge is a haven for guests looking to relax and enjoy the serenity on offer at this secluded location. On arrival guests are mesmerised by commanding views of The Remarkables and Cecil Peak mountains, Hidden Island and Lake Wakatipu. There are four spacious guest suites featuring super-king size beds. Each suite has its own bathroom. All guests can enjoy the wood-fired hot pool, gymnasium and sauna. The lounge area offers panoramic views while the sun-drenched outdoor courtyard is ideal for relaxation. The on-site Lodge Manager provides customised, fully-cooked breakfasts for guests. Guests enjoy canapes and drinks on arrival. The breakfast, canapes and drinks are complimentary, as are tea, coffee and soft drinks throughout the day. At this boutique, high quality accommodation Wi-Fi is free and there is ample off- street parking. Assistance is available for transfer information, restaurant suggestions, activity options and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing