We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Club Resort(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$175
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
$164
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$110
$105
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scenic Suites Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$156
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$172
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$151
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$140
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$360
$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Whistler Holiday Apartments(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$137
$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveler rating
191
307
137
44
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
307
137
44
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillclose to townnice view of the lakeshort walkfamily roomhotel is in a great locationeasy walkwater pressurebuffet breakfastgood sizeduty managerreception staffawesome viewshotel roomnew zealandnight stayfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 693 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night during our 3 night stay in Queenstown. The place is a bit old, requires some renovation (especially the toilet/bathroom). Parking was a bit crowded and troublesome. Otherwise the stay is OK with reasonable access to town and helpful staff. The manager actually moved his car to make room to park my car :). Overall not a disappointment, but just average.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank in_oz_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel in Queenstown.

We value our guests comments as it helps us make improvements where possible.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Upon check in toilet was dirty, bathroom vanity had hair on it, floors were dirty, powerpoint in bathroom didn't work. Had to call reception at 2am to complain of ongoing excessive noise of guests partying in adjoining room. Fire alarms went off at 7.30am first morning, then 6am, 7.30am and 8am second morning - no good nights sleep or sleep ins here. Guest laundry was filthy - literally dirt all over top of both washing machines and inside. Dryers looked like never cleaned. Tokens for laundry charged at $2 each one day - the next day they were $4 - when we questioned this we were treated like liars, no apologies were issued or offers to honour original price (a petty issue but on top of everything else it seemed like a big deal). Rooms were creaky and noisy - can hear people walking around in adjoining rooms and everyword ppl say outside - they should invest in double glazed windows. No allocated parking meant that other guests parked right up against our door and we had less than half a metre to squeeze past the car with our bags to get to our car in a back parking lot. Really tainted our stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimMiller925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel, we value commenst from our guests as it helps us make improvements where needed.

I have read all your comments about the room allocated during your stay and have taken action on the items we can correct before the next guest stays.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights & felt it was good value - albeit we were in a 2nd floor room which had a great view of the lake.
The distance from town/slope is fine if you are mobile & all staff we dealt with were very friendly.
It is a long established hotel which is evident in some areas - but all clean & maintained, & was a great location for the price. The hour free wifi in room was enough for our needs.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PeteWR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

I'm glad you found the staff friendly and our location good during your stay, along with enjoying the great views, we value your positive feedback.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed there recently, great value for money, very very clean and tidy. Reception staff were just so friendly and helpful. Had dinner in their restaurant and it was delicious and the staff there were fantastic and made sure that we were happy well done!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get one with an awesome view of the lake just amazing
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Very positive comments about you enjoying your room, staff, meals and all at great value for money.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The photos make the hotel look a bit better than what they are :)
The service was ok - nothing special they weren't that friendly, just rushed through everything.
It has a good location, just walking distance to the heart of the city.
Only bad comment I would say is the noise. VERY noisy, we could hear everything. I would describe it to the same as sleeping in a tent :) could hear everything from the kitchen, them talking, doing dishes everything.People walking by, people talking in other rooms etc. didn't have the best sleep and I am a heavy sleeper!
View is good though, could see the lake from our room which was nice. If your looking for somewhere cheap this is ok.

Room Tip: ask for one with a room and not close to the kitchen
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0phia8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel, it helps us to make improvements where appropriate.

I am pleased you enjoying the great views from your room down the lake, and the great location of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews