We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views & friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights & felt it was good value - albeit we were in a 2nd floor room which had a great view of the lake.
The distance from town/slope is fine if you are mobile & all staff we dealt with were very friendly.
It is a long established hotel which is evident in some areas - but all clean & maintained, & was a great location for the price. The hour free wifi in room was enough for our needs.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PeteWR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

I'm glad you found the staff friendly and our location good during your stay, along with enjoying the great views, we value your positive feedback.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 664 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed there recently, great value for money, very very clean and tidy. Reception staff were just so friendly and helpful. Had dinner in their restaurant and it was delicious and the staff there were fantastic and made sure that we were happy well done!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get one with an awesome view of the lake just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Very positive comments about you enjoying your room, staff, meals and all at great value for money.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The photos make the hotel look a bit better than what they are :)
The service was ok - nothing special they weren't that friendly, just rushed through everything.
It has a good location, just walking distance to the heart of the city.
Only bad comment I would say is the noise. VERY noisy, we could hear everything. I would describe it to the same as sleeping in a tent :) could hear everything from the kitchen, them talking, doing dishes everything.People walking by, people talking in other rooms etc. didn't have the best sleep and I am a heavy sleeper!
View is good though, could see the lake from our room which was nice. If your looking for somewhere cheap this is ok.

Room Tip: ask for one with a room and not close to the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0phia8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel, it helps us to make improvements where appropriate.

I am pleased you enjoying the great views from your room down the lake, and the great location of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in a standard double room. It was nicely presented and is exactly what we needed. Not flash but it was what we paid for and had the essentials. Also a good pressures shower!
It was a great price for a hotel right next to town in Queenstown. It's about a 2 minute walk to town centre and made it easy to leave the car behind.
I wasn't impressed with the amount of parking. We had to park down the back road because there was no parking in the complex.
Also we were not aware upon arrival if we didn't have a credit card that we would be charged a $50 bond. I do think this needs to be said when applying for your room online. It wasn't a big deal but was unexpected.
Other than those little things our stay was overall very nice and relaxing.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank daisylea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown and found all the essentials you required.

We do operate on a 'first come, first serve' basis with parking which seems to work well for the majority of the time, we will try to assist guests in finding a park on the few occassions our on-site parking spaces fill up.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour of NZ. Pointy roofed rooms with balconies greeted us to this chain of Scenic Hotels situated at the top of a hill 5 mins walk to CBD and 15mins back! Usual standards and the staff were helpful and pleasant with clean well equipped rooms as expected for this Hotel Group. The beds were comfortable. WiFi is a rip off, but you can get 1hr free every 24hrs which is usually enough for the average traveller. Breakfast was extra. Free car parking on site.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belly5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

I appreciate you taking the time to mention the standards expected and met by our hotel chain, our hotel included.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour of NZ. Not the best of rooms but not bad for the money we paid for them! Breakfast was extra and not a pleasant experience due to some very rude other guests!! Room great but bathroom needed updated. Be prepared for the steep walk back to the hotel at the end of a night out!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blandy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

The location of the hotel is great, and the short walk up the hill certainly gives the quads a good work out, but its only a for a few minutes.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at Heartland Hotels, staff were helpful and pleasant, the beds were comfortable and the chalet was warm in the bedrooms. The children really enjoyed the shower/bath and bath gel. We had a great view of the lake and were only five minutes into town. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zak1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Your comment about the room being warm and comfortable with good lake views is appreciated and has been passed on to the Hotel team.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
920 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 59 in Queenstown
898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 59 in Queenstown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $143 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing