We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

a wonderful night with fantastic view from room,glad to see you have kept the chalet look,only 1 thing was disappointed in,its winter and no electric blanket on bed,took hot water bottles out of case as said staying in hotel won't need them,but alas no blanket,so took a while to get to sleep when warmed up,apart from this its great,got this deal on grab 1 and will do again if it arises

Room Tip: if you like warm bed take your hot water bottle.if you like a quiet start or finish to you day do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. Although we do not have electric blankets but we do always have spare blankets if needed. I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room and our location to town.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    255
    98
    27
    9
See reviews for
93
258
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in queenstown, it has nice views of the lake and a good distance from the noise and lights of the city, although there is a nasty little hill to walk up to get to it, painful after a night out. The cheaper rooms are quite outdated, the bathrooms are tiny and there's no microwave. The better rooms have king size beds, a big bathroom and alot of space throughout, i would recommend spending a little more for this luxury.
Staff were all very nice and helpful to us, whatever we needed they got it done and made it easy.
Staying in queenstown, i'd suggest this hotel over other hotels in the CBD.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms with a view and king size bed, i think there about $130?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benji35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. Great comments about enjoying the view and our location to town. We value your comments about our staff willing to help, this is all part of the service culture of Heartland Hotels.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We got a deal off GrabOne and stayed 3 nights. The room was so spacious and tidy. I loved the slanted roof of the chalet.

As others have commented the place is very close to the city centre and easy to get to. The airport bus will even stop right outside if you ask.

The hotel had lots of good food and drink deals on so we made the most of those! Things like 2 for 1 dinners and happy hour drinks.

Staff were exceptionally helpful and smiley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. Great comments about the staff and our location to town and I am glad you took advantage of our great food and beverage specials.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The stay at the hotel was absolutely fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location and wonderful view from the room was an added advantage. The food was amazing too. All these things made my stay at Queenstown memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SapBhads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

We value your positive comments about the food, views, helpful staff and our location to town. I am glad we could help make your stay in Queenstown a memorable one and we look foward to your return visit soon.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Parking is a major issue in Queenstown. Heartland Hotel is ideally situated to enable you to walk to and from all the town activities. Service from all staff was great at the hotel. Will most definitely be my first option when we go back to Queenstown. Only thing I will check is the mattresses when booking in as ours was too soft for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

We value your postive comments about our staff and a location to town. Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Got a great deal on Grab One and stayed two nights. The location is excellent just a short walk to the centre of Queenstown and all shops, cafes, bars and supermarket. Staff couldn't have been more helpful particularly storing our luggage when we arrived early so that we could go up the mountain skiing for the day. The chalet rooms at the back of the hotel are the best, these have high ceilings and wonderful views and as they are away from the main road are a lot quieter. Free off road parking for the car is a bonus. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The chalet rooms at the back of the hotel are the best, these have high ceilings and wonderful views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. Great comments about great accommodation and our staff willing to help, this is all part of the service culture of Heartland Hotels.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal on grab one for a night! Room was excellent had everything that I needed, staff were very friendly and welcoming. Had breakfast at the restaurant which was great value. Location is just far away enough from the noise of being in the centre and only a few minutes walk away! Lobby and reception area well presented. Clean and tidy, very very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misskeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown. We value your positive comments about the breakfast, staff and our location to town.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#38 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Property: Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing