We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base in Queenstown - don't eat the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Base in Queenstown - don't eat the food”
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We had a 'standard room' and were luck enough to be put in one overlooking the street - which meant an uninterrupted view of the lake and mountains - superb!!!

The location is a 5 minute walk, down a fairly steep road, slightly away from the busy part of town - for us this was excellent.

Parking was a challenge - too few spaces and quite hard to manoeuvre around. The staff were no help in telling where we might find a space. If you can arrive early!

The room was rather run down and tired, but spacious.
Internet access was on a coin-operated terminal - which was actually not bad to use.
The restaurant was a total disaster - we had breakfast there once - not a pleasant experience. Poor food, badly cooked, terrible service.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalambaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    275
    117
    36
    11
See reviews for
115
285
46
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Really disappointed with my stay here. The only good thing about staying here is that its close to the town centre, as parking can be hard to find there.

We stayed in a hotel room, and a porter did help us with the luggage which was a nice gesture. However the room was plain and old and tired, the bathroom fogged like crazy with the shower on, sending clouds of steam into the bedroom, and my room was right outside the carpark which was noisy in the morning.

The kettle coil was burnt and had white deposits on it - is the tap water in Queenstown hard? Might be lime buildup. I've never experienced this before, so forgive me for my ignorance. The kettle smelt funky too. I brought it to the desk requesting for a new one but they told me that the smell was normal (really?!), the burnt coil was normal (seriously?!), and that the white deposits were fine - even though they were bits of them floating around freely in the kettle. In short, they refused to give me a new kettle.

I'm sure there're better accommodation in Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frozen_fire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived the service was abysmal, the "free internet" was for the first 30 minutes of the stay only. Other than the porter who showed us to our room the "service" was non existent. During our seven (7) day stay fro 12 - 19 March the room was serviced on occasions, two days no service one day towels left on the door handle to the room. During the entire time the room was not vacuumed.

Beds where hard and at no stage was the linen changed, the beds were not properly made, just pulled up.

Due to the state of the room and our lack of response from the staff we did not have the confidence to eat any meals at the establishment.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth East Vic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

A nice place to stay in Queenstown. Our unit was standard and quite comfortable and spacious. The town was just down the hill and staff were helpful/professional. It was good value for money. Parking was a bit squeezy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Shooemaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We had halted for one night in queenstown when we were traveling from wanaka to franz josef. Had opted for a standard room at Heartland Hotel (the budget hotel chain of scenic suites). The room was clean and spacious, but it was located near the main road and hence it was quite noisy. The staff is friendly and served decent food.

The other rooms were located off the road, and you can opt for the same incase you are looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aruna_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here for one night prior to jetting back to the UK. Room was pretty basic and old school but offered good value for money. Hotel is in a good location 5 mins walk from town centre but is the first you come to at the top of a steep hill on the main road in and out of town so maybe wouldn't suit an older or more unsteady traveller who wouldn't be happy getting a taxi but its really no big deal for anyone else. Had great service from reception and they had no probs holding our bags post checkout prior to us departing to the airport. Trip to airport in daytime was $35 in taxi at time of trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExtraPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in these very spacious 2 bedroom apartments - we couldn't have asked for more. Very centrally located with magnificient view over Queenstown Bay and Remarkables. Queenstown offers great adventure activities for all ages but particularly teenagers with the Zip Trek, Shotover, Quad Bike (16yr old said it was the best he has ever experienced), luge and scenic flight down to Milford Sound.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NBB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Property: Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing