We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Really disappointed with my stay here. The only good thing about staying here is that its close to the town centre, as parking can be hard to find there.

We stayed in a hotel room, and a porter did help us with the luggage which was a nice gesture. However the room was plain and old and tired, the bathroom fogged like crazy with the shower on, sending clouds of steam into the bedroom, and my room was right outside the carpark which was noisy in the morning.

The kettle coil was burnt and had white deposits on it - is the tap water in Queenstown hard? Might be lime buildup. I've never experienced this before, so forgive me for my ignorance. The kettle smelt funky too. I brought it to the desk requesting for a new one but they told me that the smell was normal (really?!), the burnt coil was normal (seriously?!), and that the white deposits were fine - even though they were bits of them floating around freely in the kettle. In short, they refused to give me a new kettle.

I'm sure there're better accommodation in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frozen_fire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 664 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived the service was abysmal, the "free internet" was for the first 30 minutes of the stay only. Other than the porter who showed us to our room the "service" was non existent. During our seven (7) day stay fro 12 - 19 March the room was serviced on occasions, two days no service one day towels left on the door handle to the room. During the entire time the room was not vacuumed.

Beds where hard and at no stage was the linen changed, the beds were not properly made, just pulled up.

Due to the state of the room and our lack of response from the staff we did not have the confidence to eat any meals at the establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

A nice place to stay in Queenstown. Our unit was standard and quite comfortable and spacious. The town was just down the hill and staff were helpful/professional. It was good value for money. Parking was a bit squeezy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Shooemaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We had halted for one night in queenstown when we were traveling from wanaka to franz josef. Had opted for a standard room at Heartland Hotel (the budget hotel chain of scenic suites). The room was clean and spacious, but it was located near the main road and hence it was quite noisy. The staff is friendly and served decent food.

The other rooms were located off the road, and you can opt for the same incase you are looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aruna_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here for one night prior to jetting back to the UK. Room was pretty basic and old school but offered good value for money. Hotel is in a good location 5 mins walk from town centre but is the first you come to at the top of a steep hill on the main road in and out of town so maybe wouldn't suit an older or more unsteady traveller who wouldn't be happy getting a taxi but its really no big deal for anyone else. Had great service from reception and they had no probs holding our bags post checkout prior to us departing to the airport. Trip to airport in daytime was $35 in taxi at time of trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExtraPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in these very spacious 2 bedroom apartments - we couldn't have asked for more. Very centrally located with magnificient view over Queenstown Bay and Remarkables. Queenstown offers great adventure activities for all ages but particularly teenagers with the Zip Trek, Shotover, Quad Bike (16yr old said it was the best he has ever experienced), luge and scenic flight down to Milford Sound.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
Thank NBB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed here in June of 2009, have finally gotten round to reviewing. The room itself was ok, the best way to describe it is probably more of a motel than a hotel. We stayed in a triple room and had a fairly large closet and 2 singles and a double bed. Our door to the "balcony" would not lock properly a lot of the time. The bathroom was cramped and kind of awkward, and the shower was pretty old and more like getting spritzed than showered. I probably wouldn't stay here again, although the lobby staff made a mean hot chocolate and the room service was delicious and well priced. This hotel is also quite close to town but some people might find it a bit of a struggle to climb up the hill.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigchris20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
920 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 59 in Queenstown
898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 59 in Queenstown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $143 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing