We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful vineyard with amazing helpful staff”
Review of Chard Farm Winery

Chard Farm Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.14*
and up
Original Wine Tour
Ranked #35 of 119 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialising in Pinot Noir, Riesling, Chardonnay, Pinot Gris, Sauvignon Blanc and Gewurztraminer. Cellar Door Open for tastings 10am - 5pm weekdays and 11am - 5pm on weekends
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful vineyard with amazing helpful staff”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had a very enjoyable visit to Chard Farm vineyard. The staff were very hellpful and friendly, and very down to earth. The wines were yummy,I had my first taste of Gewurztraminer and the Pinot Noirs were gorgeous.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kattyoo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    47
    8
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The drive up is amazing”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The friendliest vintner we've ever met!! He explained the process and wines without any hint of condescension to the less-than-knowledgeable wine-lovers (us).

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank gjpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weren't going to go but glad we did!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We usually do a fair bit of research before visiting wineries to make sure they are good value for money. We had been told that Central Otago wines were overpriced but wanted to give them a go. The wineries we had planned on visiting didn't open till later so we picked Chard Farm basically because we wanted to see the drive in!!

The truth is the drive in was great, but the wines at the end of the road were fantastic and the guys at the cellar door were great.

A definite must visit in Central Otago.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank krisandjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Small vineyard worth a visit”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The highlight of the visit was the drive to the vineyard along a narrow cliff top road. A small tasting bar in a small shop is reflective of their range of wines.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank SpookyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The visit to the winery was great, similar to all the other reviews so we purchased a case of wine to be delivered back to Australia. The staff assured us the freight covered all taxes from NZ and Aus and that i would have the case 'at my front door' in 5-6 weeks. The tax detail covered was high as we had visited previous wineries and knew what questions to ask.

5 weeks later, i get slapped with a tax bill from Aus customs and the winery, when contacted, denied all involvement and was extremely unhelpful to the point of useless. They basicially wanted to make a sale and omitted certain information 'by accident' and stated that 'without cctv, we can't ensure that our policy is adhered to with information like that'.

2 weeks and $165 later the post office has released the case of wine for me pick up, really not worth it, how poor this experience has turned out, their wines are good but not that good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank shooshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, Manager at Chard Farm Winery, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are very sad to hear you had a bad experience visiting Chard Farm as we pride ourselves by our customer service and of course our product. You were served by our most senior member of the Cellar Door. While he wouldn't have assured you that all taxes were included, he may have omitted to inform that duties may be payable. The information that taxes to Australia are not included is also very clearly shown on our “Shipping” cost board, which is very large and on the wall behind the counter. This information is also stated clearly on our website. Following your feedback, we have reviewed our policy. As well as advising customers verbally, which is our current policy, we will now also ensure they are required to “tick a box” on our order form to alert them again that duties may be payable. We also note that Australian customs has only recently initiated a campaign focused on NZ products into Australia. Again we are very sorry that your experience has not been a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chard Farm Winery also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Chard Farm Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing