We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Day Sojourn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lintnz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,736 - 1,742 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2011

My only complaint was that the room rate charged was greater than a normal traveller who booked on line via an ccommodation web site and got a cheaper rate than myself as an A Club Agvantage member. Very poor considering A Club are supposed to gaurantee the cheapest rate for members,.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I really wanted to be able to write a glowing review of this hotel – after all we’ve paid quite a bit of money to stay here for a week. You want a place to succeed. Ho hum, it kind of made it half way there. I will try and be as objective as possible.

Background

My husband and I booked 7 nights in a Lakeview 1 bed suite over the New Year period – it was our second week of our holiday in NZ.

Location

The hotel has a very good location being only about 200m from the town harbour front. It’s on a stretch of hill that includes other hotels such as Peppers, Rydges and BreekFree Waterfront. There is a short steep climb from the harbour roadside to the entrance. Although a bit of slug at times, it does mean that the hotel rooms have a better view of the lake.

Room (317)

The rooms are nicely furnished and the kitchenette is particularly well provisioned with goodies such as ground coffee for the plunger, a well stocked bar bridge and a 2 ring hot-plate as well as a microwave. There is also washer/dryer... but we found that the dryer didn’t work particularly well and that we ended up going down to the guest laundry to use the dryer there.

The bedroom is reached through double doors - so wonderfully dark when required as there are no windows.

The bed has a “pillow top” and was very comfortable. There were at least 6 pillows on the bed and the sheets were sublime.

The bathroom as a fantastic shower – very powerful and there was always hot water when we wanted it. (There is a separate bath). Unfortunately there is no heated flooring or towel rail – a real draw back when Queenstown can get very chilly, even in summer. This was a feature we had experienced in the other places we stayed on our trip and was a real let down.

On the point of heating please be aware there is no air-conditioning in the rooms (old fashioned way – window) and that the heating system is fairly primitive (couple of switches and a dial which gives no indication of amount of heat). (see photo) Again an infrastructure fault which I would not expect in a hotel of this supposed quality.

There is a TV in the bedroom as well as one in the lounge area. Unfortunately the lounge TV (quite large) is routed through a different system (so you can get in-house movies) and I have to say the quality of the picture was so poor that we asked reception to send someone to re-tune the system. The maintenance man came, but apparently that level of quality is the standard. Given the amount of fuzz and interference they would have been better off with a DVD player and discs.

Internet

There is a free 30min or 10mb in the lobby per day, or you can pay for usage in your room. The in room charges were very expensive and we found that using our wireless we connected to a Queenstown hotspot where we paid for the one week ($39) about the same amount as we would have paid per day in the hotel. The hotel did have a special rate of $15 per day, but that’s still not particularly cheap.

There is no desk for working at, just the dining room table, so we had to move the furniture around so that we could have our computer near the power socket.

The housekeeping was a fairly hit and miss affair. After three days I had to point out the areas in the bathroom and lounge that had been repeatedly missed. We were also very unhappy to find our room still un-serviced after being out all day. They did come and service the room (after I asked) but it was a nuisance as we had to sit through it (not wanting to go out again). There just didn’t seem to be any attention to detail. Again not something I expect of a 5* hotel.

Reception and bar staff

They have been wonderful and I found them friendly, happy and helpful. I’ve discovered one or two new cocktails and enjoyed having tapas in the bar when we didn’t want a full dinner. Parking is an extra $10 per day and the staff will park and retrieve your car with a couple of minutes notice. This is basically due to having limited parking space in the hotel, so they can shift the vehicles around as necessary.

Food

We ate in the bar, in the Lombardi restaurant and had room service. Generally the food was of good quality. I had a tapas selection a couple of times and found it all well cooked and presented. We had the degustation menu for dinner on New Years Eve and although we enjoyed it, the menu rather missed the mark – individually all the flavours were good but they didn’t quite work together (with the exception of the crayfish and salmon ravioli which was brilliant). On the room service side we ordered pizza and popcorn to have with a movie. The Lombardi pizza of parma ham, potato, roasted garlic, basil, rock salt, awa blue cheese butter – mmmm.

Overall

It hasn’t been bad... it just hasn’t been the level I expect for 5*. I think some of the issues are around infrastructure (heating, cooling, TV) which aren’t easily resolved and other issues such as housekeeping is down to a lack of attention to detail. Would I come back to this hotel again – probably not. In Queenstown there are a number of other accommodation options that I would investigate first.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smulholland24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the St. Moritz Queenstown at the end of Nov.

After a quick check-in, we were a 'little' unhappy with the deluxe room assigned to us.
Back to the front desk, the fantastic front desk manager offered us to upgrade ourselves to a suite for the mere 60$NZ. We took it!

Our suite was huge is size, more like a cabin with a separate living room from the bedroom that had a spacious bathroom with a separate bath from a walk-in shower (Aigner toiletries). The decor is homey with richly warm color schemes. Our suite also had a washing machine and dryer which came very much in hand as we were finishing our NZ trip, right before flying to Auckland and then back home.

Service was excellent all around from front desk Ben to Daria at the restaurant, all were eager to assist, professional and genuinely friendly.

The wine list at the restaurant and bar is excellent. It strength is NZ Pinots. You can try different styles and quality levels even by the glass.

Though Queenstwon is small and the St. Moritz is conveniently located, it is a little on the tip of town and up a little hill.

The gym here is very small and merely adequate. A multi strength machine breaking into the next room will really elevate the level of work-out offered right now.

As it was a little cold while we stayed in Queenstown, we didn't try the outside hot tub. But it looked like lots of fun.

Overall, St. Moritz Queenstown is a gem.

Tips:
* We were told that all king deluxe rooms face the concrete entrance . . .
* We had an excellent dinner at Flame - local steakhouse. The food is tasty, the wine list is great as well as the service and all for a fair price (a little difficult to come by when the US$ is so weak).
* A cab ride to the airport is around 20$NZ only.
* Unlike Australia, sushi won't cost you an "arm and a leg" in Queenstown and it is good.
* You must try the "Wine Experience" downtown for one of the best by-the-glass selection of NZ wines in general and exquisite NZ Pinots in particular. However, if you'd like to buy wine, write down whatever made an impression on you and look it up online in one of the major cities' wine shops.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelguyNYC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyzqn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

got a 3 nights for price of 2 over xmas. great welcome- car valeted quickly, reception modern and freshly decorated. room was huge- no view but little garden at back with table. bed was best on trip- slept really well and great sound proofing! large flat screen tv and nice decor.
Kitchen with washer/dryer.
Breakfast was included and included many local foods- best on trip too. Really I came expecting a chain hotel and was very impressed with all staff, the look of the room and general areas. Recommended- got the deal direct on website. Really short walk to central QT and lake.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

After staying at two other hotels in Queenstown (the Novotel and Crown Plaza) where we had excellent service as well as comfortable and quiet rooms with air conditioning, we expected that our stay at the Hotel St Moritz would provide us with the same level of comfort etc (or better given the price) we had at the other two hotels. The staff are friendly but unable to help. Our room (# 526) is unimpressive with views of a concrete wall and noisy drive. Inside the room there is no air-conditioning which makes it stuffy. We would open the window but the noise is not worth doing so. We have been offered a small fan as our only option. Our room is also right next to assumingly the housekeeping's laundry area and so there is a constant loud hum of what sounds like a washing machine or drier. We feel as though we are returning to a noisy cave. Not what you would want for a romantic New Year's Eve. Very disappointing. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khunjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $158 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing