We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Deepwater, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed in Queenstown for 3 nights,staff at Hotel were very friendly. The rooms are very large, big Bathroom with a nice deep bath and roomy shower.the bed was Kingsize and very comfy. We asked for a room with a view of the lake,which we got on the 2nd day at no extra cost , with the tiniest balcony I have seen, but fabulous view. I am a smoker and by shutting the door to the room I could have a smoke. I always carry a small tin with me to use as an ashtray. They have a bigger balcony for Smokers off the Dining room too.
Service in the Dining room at night was a bit slow I thought, considering there were not too many guests dining. So don't know what it would be like when they are really busy.
Breakfast was good, with some good choices. All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Brigitte

Your positive and frank review is much appreciated. I'm glad to read that you found my staff friendly and that we were able to extend a complimentary lake view on your 2nd night - our rooms with a balcony are most certainly a great option for our smoking guests.

Kind Regards
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    537
    162
    56
    23
See reviews for
310
1,086
60
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a Grab-One deal to stay for three nights. We knew the hotel was 5-star, but we reserved our expectations. From the moment we arrived, we were blown away with the service, room, and food.

The hotel desk clerk greeted us warmly and was very accommodating. The rooms were huge and spacious, and the bed, well lets say it was as wide as it was long. It was also very clean. Even the cleaners we met were very courteous and always greeted you with a smile.

We had dinner in the restaurant as we were tired from our drive from Christchurch, and the service was next to none. Even while waiting in the bar having drinks, the staff treated the rude and obnoxious group next to us (I'm ashamed to say they were Australian) with the same courtesy and professionalism as the rest of their guests.

Breakfast was included, and the service and food was great. The young lady (I think her name was Nadia or something like that) was really nice and helpful. We had seen her the previous night doing dinner, and after talking to her found she was helping out with extra shifts due to the sudden Easter/ANZAC week rush. She was terrific and looked relaxed, though it was very busy.

I have a side note for guests, just because hotel staff are there to help you, they are not your personal servants/slaves, so don't treat them as such. They deserve our courtesy, and please and thank you goes along way.

We will definitely coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Kim

I'm absolutely thrilled that Hotel St Moritz exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay. I am truly fortunate to work with the talented individuals on my team whom genuinely care for each and every one of our guests - I will certainly share your commendations with them all, especially Navjeet who will be delighted to know of the impression she made on you during your visit. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here on a conference recently. Staff were very helpful, rooms very large with great views out over the lake and the most comfortable bed I've slept in (apart from my own). you can walk into the centre of town in 5 minutes and escape back to the comfort of this small boutique hotel with a great open fire. Nice breakfast on site too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Russell

Thank-you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your conference and that you were able to feel as comfortable here as you would at home. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back - perhaps your next holiday destination?!

Warmest Regards
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have just attended a conference at this location, and everything was fantastic. The one bedroom suites are huge, with great views. Really comfy beds made my stay even more relaxing. The rooms have kitchenettes and a washer/dryer which would be great if you wanted to save money. No cable TV, so only limited channels available.

Location to town is excellent, only a short stroll to restaurants, bars, shops, waterfront. Lots of great places to walk and take in the incredible views - they really need to be seen to be believed.

Staff at St Moritz come from around the world and they are very attentive to your needs. I was staying on the second floor, but the current bathroom renovations did not affect me at all.

Room Tip: Room 601 was stunning, with a deck and hot tub looking over incredible views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyajane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Service and the staff were great and pleasant here and they let us check in early after we arrived early from the airport (our first day in New Zealand). Hotel was close to downtown Queenstown and the Skyline Gondola although it is up a steep hill when walking back!

However, for the supposed 4 star rating the hotel did not meet our expectations. The room/furniture/bathroom were clean but old, dated and disappointing. Some of the light fixtures did not work. Our view was not of the lake but a graffiti covered wall.

Overall, we enjoyed our time here but I would recommend looking at other options in Queenstown that may be better quality or value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Hitesh

Your commendations about our team are well received and I'm delighted we were able to provide you with an early check in after a long flight. It is however a shame that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. The hotel's furnishings are residential in aesthetic, and I certainly respect that such decor is not to everyone’s taste. The light fixtures that weren't working have since been fixed and we are currently in the process of removing the graffiti across the road that you could see on a council wall.

With thanks
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Service was fantastic from checkin to checkout, they recognized us as "accor platinum" members and were given a nice upgrade, the suites with lake views are great, bathrooms are a bit dated.
Views are the best, very comfy bed. Nice equipped small kitchen.
Tv stations are very limited. We were on the 5th floor, their is some noise as they are renovating from 9-5. Hotel is not and cannot be accessed at ground level, is a problem if you are not a good walker as involves some hills. Only 3-4 minute walk to town and shops. Parking is only via valet as no street or outside parking at all.
Lobby and restaurant atmosphere was very nice, restaurant quality was generally ok but their were some issues.
Thanks to all the staff and, a big thanks to Jo the acting manager who made our stay a very happy one.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view even if you have to pay extra it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarrodpercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Jarrod

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm so pleased that you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay. Your feedback is sincerely valued as we continuously strive to ensure a memorable experience for all our guests - the Team will be delighted to hear of your commendations.

With Gratitude
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our family of 3 shared a 1 bedroom "garden room"suite. It was luxurious & spacious & had its own beautiful outdoor patio area with garden & table & chairs. I had requested a quiet room & it was wonderfully quiet. Although it wasnt officially a room with a view we were lucky in that our room (number 131) had a view of the Remarkables between 2 neighbouring buildings.
We all loved the comfort of the bed, its a firm mattress with individual bases and a 50cm thick down filled topper over the mattress - feels amazing when you lie down.
My husband usually has trouble sleeping a full night and he slept for 11 hours in this amazing bed!
Our son slept on the sofa bed, not nearly as comfortable as our bed but it was fine.
My husband enjoyed reading in the warm hot tub with the water jets massaging his back.
All the staff we met were very well mannered, helpful & professional.
We went to happy hour at the bar each night (1/2 price drinks & complimentary snacks) mainly to watch the sun set over the Remarkable mountain range, the view is mind blowing.
Lots of positives but 2 negatives: one is they charge $15/night for parking, we chose to park on the street right outside the hotel entrance for free.
Secondly, very restricitive wi-fi access, very unusual for a luxurious hotel in my experience & quite ironic that the Backpacker lodge next door had free parking & unlimited free wi-fi.

Room Tip: If you choose a room without a view ask for a garden room, quiet & has own outside garden patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyVerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear NZ Family of Three

I very much enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the time and care you've taken to do so. I was delighted to read about the highlights of your stay - in particular the comfort of our beds and those sunsets on The Remarkables - they are truly captivating. My team and I hope you and your family will visit us again in the near future.

With Gratitude
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing