We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay - tired old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok stay - tired old hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Travelling with family and decided to finish our final 2 days stay in queenstown at st moritz. I guess if our expectations weren't so high we would have appreciated our stay a lot more. The reception is beautiful and the staff was friendly. However when we went to our room which is situated a level below reception, the old hallway was very dark and smelly, quite depressing as you entered from the brilliant sunshine outside. The room itself was arge, although there was no view. The positives was the excellent shower water pressure. The negatives was the bedding, whereby the mattress bunched up around as you slowly sunk further and further into a hole. The sofa bed was not much better unless you enjoy sleeping on metal springs. I was surprised that there was no safety box in the room, which I thought was standard in anything over 4stars..we didn't want to bother going to reception each time we wanted to retrieve our valuables. Overall it was just a tired old hotel, the shower was full of mould, the bathroom sink plug became stuck and although we called for service no one actually came, therefore brushing teeth, washing hands etc was a hassle until the following day after we managed to finally wrestle the plug out....The outdoor spas although I think we're supposed to look rustic looked old and completely uninviting. At times it felt more like a nice motel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    552
    170
    58
    23
See reviews for
321
1,122
63
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I might have had too high expectations as I was not as impressed with our stay as I had hoped for ;( It does have more personality than other chain hotels but it felt a little tired. They need to spruce up the rooms a bit - desperately needs a nespresso in the room. Wasn't memorable enough - although beds are uber comfortable. Won't go back another time as too much to choose from in Queenstown

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the place to stay while in Queesntown. The hotel was very nice. Great view of the lake and mountains. We stayed there three days. While walking around town we saw the other options for hotels and decided we had the best one! The others are right in town and you have the traffic and people all around.The St. Moritz is very close to town so you are not far away, just out of the hustle and bustle.I had read reviews on this hotel and was warned about the hill. They were not kidding. It IS a climb! Short but steep but worth every step. The lobby was warm and inviting. Rooms clean and cozy yet spacious. Breakfast was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Queestown is a ski town and the St. Moritz is what you would want for the ambiance of apres ski.
Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake-worth the extra cash!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just came back from a long weekend at St Moritz. Loved the room and the view. I found the bed to be extremely comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. The shower had the best water pressure I think I have ever had in a hotel. We had breakfast and found the food to have plenty of variety and the views from the restaurant were amazing. Every employee we came across were friendly and seemed happy to be there. Only issue was no free wi fi in rooms which I think we all expect these days however there was a limited session available in the lobby free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Address: 10-18 Brunswick Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly St Moritz Queenstown)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defined by a warm spirit and distinctive style that embodies the spirit of Queenstown. Blending understated luxury with warmth, and genuine hospitality, Hotel St Moritz is superbly located in town and has panoramic lake and mountain views. Offering traditional Guest Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Alpine Suites, each room cleverly blends timeless classics with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort. Dine in Lombardi - a relaxed ambience, offering an array of dining styles and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Moritz Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
St Moritz Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown St Moritz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing